DeepSouthCon 2016 Moves

DeepSouthCon has announced that it will be held the weekend of May 13-15, 2016 at the Doubletree Hotel in Roswell, GA, previously the site of the 2013 DeepSouthCon. Originally, the convention was scheduled to be held in Atlanta. DeepSouthCon will announce the slate of guests once they have all been finalized.

Faned Awards

The winners for R. Graeme Cameron’s Faned Awards for Canadian fandom have been announced. This year, Cameron expanded the voting pool.

  • Best Writer: Taral Wayne
  • Best LOC Writer: Brad Foster
  • Best Artist: Brad Foster
  • Best Canadian Fanzine: Broken Toys, editor Taral Wayne
  • Faned Hall of Fame: Fred Hurter Jr., editor of Censored from June 1941 to 1951, a fanzine noted for its high quality silkscreen covers and wide-ranging variety of content. Surpassed Light and inspired the creation of the fanzine Canadian Fandom.

Obituary: Ann Methe

Canadian fan Ann Methe died on October 5 following a battle with cancer. Methe was a Canadian con-runner who chaired Con*Cept Boreal in 1998 and won the Aurora Award for fannish achievement in 1999, as well as being nominated for the award in 1998 and 2000. She was married to artist Jean-Pierre Normand.

Aurora Award Winners

The 2014 Aurora Awards were announced at V-Con in Vancouver the weekend of October 3-5.

  • Best English Novel: A Turn of Light, by Julie E. Czerneda
  • Best English YA (Young Adult) Novel: The Rising, by Kelley Armstrong
  • Best English Short Fiction: “Ghost in the Machine,” by Ryan McFadden
  • Best English Poem/Song: “Night Journey: West Coast,” by Kernaghan, Eileen
  • Best English Graphic Novel: Rock, Paper, Cynic, by Peter Chiykowski
  • Best English Related Work: On Spec, published by the Copper Pig Writers’ Society
  • Best Artist: Erik Mohr, cover art for ChiZine Publications
  • Best Fan Music: Chris Hadfield for his performance of “Space Oddity”
  • Best Fan Organizational: Randy McCharles, chair When Words Collide, Calgary
  • Best Fan Related Work: Robert Runté, ”Why I Read Canadian Speculative Fiction: The Social Dimension of Reading,” Scholar Keynote Address at ACCSFF ’13, Toronto

For more info

Sunburst Awards Add Category

The Sunburst Awards, in conjunction with Chizine have announced the addition of the short fiction award to the Sunburst Awards beginning in 2015. The Sunburst Awards will with with Chizine Press to identify stories eligible for consideration by the Sunburst Award jury. The first short story award winner will be announced in the fall of 2015 and will receive a prize of CAD $500 and a medallion which incorporates a specially designed Sunburst logo.

For more information…

Dillons at Society of Illustrators

The Society of Illustrators in New York will be hosting an exhibit of the worlds of Leo and Diane Dillon from October 21 through December 20. The Dillons worked as a team, winning the Hugo Award, two Caldecott Medals, two Coretta Scott King Awards, and the Society of Illustrators Gold Medal. The Society is located at 128 East 63rd Street.

For more information…

2015 Jim Baen Memorial Writing Contest

The 2015 Jim Baen Memorial Writing Contest, sponsored by Baen Books and the National Space Society, has been announced. The contest is looking for stories which explore the promise of space exploration. The winner will be published as the featured story on the Baen Books main website and paid at the normal paying rates for professional stories and receive an award, membership to the 2015 International Space Development Conference, a year’s membership in the National Space Society, and a prize package containing various Baen Books and National Space Society merchandise. The contest is looking for short stories of no more than 8,000 words, that shows the near future (no more than about 50-60 years out) of manned space exploration.

For more information…

ALAA Hall of Fame Inductees

The Anthropomorphic Literature and Arts Association announced the inductees to the ALAA Hall of Fame at Rainfurrest in Seattle on September 27. The ALAA Hall of Fame was created in 2012 to recognize individuals or works crucial to the formation of furry fandom. The 2014 inductees, which includes two people and a novel, are listed below.

  • Carl Barks
  • Charlotte’s Web, by E. B. White
  • Osamu Tezuka

For more information…

Sunburst Winners

The 2014 Sunburst Award winners have been announced. The Sunburst Award for Canadian Literature of the Fantastic is a juried award given to a Canadian writer for a book length work of SF. The prize comes with a hand-crafted medallion and Can$1,000. The jurors for the 2014 award are Camille Alexa, Paul Glennon, Bob Knowlton, Nicole Luiken, and Derek Newman-Stille.

  • Sunburst Award: A Tale for the Time Being, by Ruth Ozeki
  • Sunburst Young Adult Award: The Cats of Tanglewood Forest, by Charles de Lint

For more information…

Elgin and Dwarf Star Winners

The Science Fiction Poetry Association has announced the winners of this year’s Elgin Award for Books and Dwarf Star Awards for Short Speculative Poetry. The winner of the Dward Star Award will be reprinted in the SFPA anthology The 2013 Dwarf Stars Anthology: The Best Science Fiction, Fantasy and Horror Short Poetry of 2013.

Elgin Awards

  • Book: Demonstra, by Bryan Thao Worra
  • Chapbook: The Sex Lives of Monsters, by Helen Marshall

Dwarf Star

  • “And Deeper than Did Ever Plummet Sound,” by Matt Joiner

For more information…