Campbell and Sturgeon Finalists

The nominees for the John W. Campbell, Jr. Memorial Award and the Theodore Sturgeon Memorial Award have been announced. The Campbell award is given for a novel, the Sturgeon for a short story. Both awards will be presented during the Campbell Conference, to be held June 11-14, 2015 in Lawrence KS.

John W. Campbell, Jr. Memorial Award Nominees

  • The Race, by Nina Allan
  • A Darkling Sea, by James L. Cambias
  • The Peripheral, by William Gibson
  • Afterparty, by Daryl Gregory
  • Europe in Autumn, by Dave Hutchinson
  • Wolves, by Simon Ings
  • The Three-Body Problem, by Cixin Liu, translated by Ken Liu
  • Station Eleven, by Emily St. John Mandel
  • Defenders, by Wil McIntosh
  • The First Fifteen Lives of Harry August, by Claire North
  • The Bees, by Laline Paull
  • BĂȘte, by Adam Roberts
  • Lock In, by John Scalzi
  • The Martian, by Andy Weir
  • Area X (The Southern Reach Trilogy: Annihilation, Authority, and Acceptance, by Jeff VanderMeer
  • Echopraxia, by Peter Watts

Theodore Sturgeon Memorial Award Nominees

  • “Lady with Fox,” by
  • “Childfinder,” by
  • “In Her Eyes,” by
  • “The Man Who Sold the Moon,” by
  • “Herd Immunity,” by
  • “When It Ends, He Catches Her,” by
  • We Are All Completely Fine, by Daryl Gregory
  • Yesterday’s Kin, by Nancy Kress
  • “A Hotel in Antarctica,” by Geoffrey Landis
  • “The Regular,” by Ken Liu
  • “The Lightness of the Movement,” by Pat MacEwan
  • “We Are the Cloud,” by Sam J. Miller
  • “The Fifth Dragon,” by Ian McDonald
  • “Shatterdown,” by Suzanne Palmer
  • “The Cryptic Age,” by Robert Reed

For more information…