World Fantasy Award Nominees

The ballot for this year’s World Fantasy Award has been announced. The winners will be announced at a banquet at the World Fantasy Con held in Saratoga Springs, NY the weekend of November 5-8, 2015.


  • The Goblin Emperor, by Katherine Addison
  • City of Stairs, by Robert Jackson Bennett
  • The Bone Clocks, by David Mitchell
  • Area X: The Southern Reach Trilogy, by Jeff VanderMeer
  • My Real Children, by Jo Walton


  • We Are All Completely Fine, by Daryl Gregory
  • “Where the Trains Turn,” by Pasi Ilmari Jääskeläinen
  • “Hollywood North,” by Michael Libling
  • “The Mothers of Voorhisville,” by Mary Rickert
  • “Grand Jeté (The Great Leap),” by Rachel Swirsky
  • “The Devil in America,” by Kai Ashante Wilson

Short Fiction:

  • “I Can See Right Through You,” by Kelly Link
  • Do You Like to Look at Monsters?, by Scott Nicolay
  • “Jackalope Wives,” by Ursula Vernon
  • “Death’s Door Café,” by Kaaron Warren

  • “The Devil in America,” by Kai Ashante Wilson
  • “The Fisher Queen,” by Alyssa Wong


  • Fearful Symmetries, edited by Ellen Datlow
  • Long Hidden: Speculative Fiction from the Margins of History, edited by Rose Fox & Daniel José Older
  • Shadows & Tall Trees 2014, edited by Michael Kelly
  • Monstrous Affections, edited by Kelly Link & Gavin J. Grant
  • Rogues, edited by George R.R. Martin & Gardner Dozois


  • Mercy and Other Stories, by Rebecca Lloyd
  • Gifts for the One Who Comes After, by Helen Marshall
  • They Do the Same Things Different There, by Robert Shearman
  • The Bitterwood Bible and Other Recountings, by Angela Slatter
  • Death at the Blue Elephant, by Janeen Webb


  • Samuel Araya
  • Galen Dara
  • Jeffrey Alan Love
  • Erik Mohr
  • John Picacio

Special Award – Professional:

  • John Joseph Adams, for editing anthologies and Nightmare and Fantasy magazines
  • Jeanne Cavelos, for Odyssey writing workshops
  • Sandra Kasturi & Brett Alexander Savory, for ChiZine Publications
  • Gordon Van Gelder, for F&SF
  • Jerad Walters, for Centipede Press

Special Award – Nonprofessional:

  • Scott H. Andrews, for Beneath Ceaseless Skies
  • Matt Cardin, for Born to Fear: Interviews with Thomas Ligotti
  • Stefan Fergus, for Civilian Reader
  • Ray B. Russell & Rosalie Parker, for Tartarus Press
  • Patrick Swenson, for Fairwood Press

For more information…

ETA: Updated with revisions in Novella and Short Fiction categories.

No Comments

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.