Eisner Award Winners

The winners of the Eisner Awards, given for excellence in comic books, were announced at Comic-Con International in San Diego on July 10.

  • Best Short Story: “When the Darkness Presses,” Emily Carroll
  • Best Single Issue (or One-Shot): Beasts of Burden: Hunters and Gatherers, by Evan Dorkin & Jill Thompson
  • Best Continuing Series: Saga, by Brian K. Vaughan and Fiona Staples
  • Best Limited Series: Little Nemo: Return to Slumberland, by Eric Shanower & Garbriel Rodriguez
  • Best New Series: Lumberjanes, by Shannon Watters, Grace Ellis, Noelle Stevenson, & Brooke A. Allen
  • Best Publication for Early Readers (up to age 7): The Zoo Box, by Ariel Cohn & Aron Nels Steinke
  • Best Publication for Kids (ages 8-12): El Deafo, by Cece Bell
  • Best Publication for Teens (ages 13-17): Lumberjanes, by Shannon Watters, Grace Ellis, Noelle Stevenson, & Brooke A. Allen
  • Best Humor Publication: The Complete Cul de Sac, by Richard Thompson
  • Best Anthology: Little Nemo: Dream Another Dream, edited by Josh O’Neill, Andrew Carl, & Chris Stevens
  • Best Digital/Webcomic: The Private Eye, by Brian Vaughan & Marcos Martin
  • Best Reality-Based Work: Hip Hop Family Tree, vol. 2, by Ed Piskor
  • Best Graphic Album—New: This One Summer, by Mariko Tamaki & Jillian Tamaki
  • Best Graphic Album—Reprint: Through the Woods, by Emily Carroll h
  • Best Archival Collection/Project—Strips: Winsor McCay’s Complete Little Nemo, edited by Alexander Braun
  • Best Archival Collection/Project—Comic Books: Steranko Nick Fury Agent of S.H.I.E.L.D. Artist’s Edition, edited by Scott Dunbier
  • Best U.S. Edition of International Material: Blacksad: Amarillo, by Juan Díaz Canales & Juanjo Guarnido
  • Best U.S. Edition of International Material—Asia: Showa 1939–1955 and Showa 1944–1953: A History of Japan, by Shigeru Mizuk
  • Best Writer: Gene Luen Yang, Avatar: The Last Airbender; The Shadow Hero
  • Best Writer/Artist: Raina Telgemeier, Sisters
  • Best Penciller/Inker or Penciller/Inker Team: Fiona Staples, Saga
  • Best Painter/Multimedia Artist (interior art): J. H. Williams III, The Sandman: Overture
  • Best Cover Artist: Darwyn Cooke, DC Comics Darwyn Cooke Month Variant Covers
  • Best Coloring: Dave Stewart, Hellboy in Hell, BPRD, Abe Sapien, Baltimore, Lobster Johnson, Witchfinder, Shaolin Cowboy, Aliens: Fire and Stone, DHP
  • Best Lettering: Stan Sakai, Usagi Yojimbo: Senso, Usagi Yojimbo Color Special: The Artist
  • Best Comics-Related Periodical/Journalism: >Comic Book Resources, produced by Jonah Weiland
  • Best Comics-Related Periodical/Publication: Comics Alliance, edited by Andy Khouri, Caleb Goellner, Andrew Wheeler, & Joe Hughes
  • Best Comics-Related Book: Genius Animated: The Cartoon Art of Alex Toth, vol. 3, by Dean Mullaney & Bruce Canwell
  • Best Scholarly/Academic Work: Graphic Details: Jewish Women’s Confessional Comics in Essays and Interviews, edited by Sarah Lightman
  • Best Publication Design: Little Nemo: Dream Another Dream, designed by Jim Rugg
  • Bob Clampett Humanitarian Award: Bill and Kayre Morrison
  • Hall of Fame: Marjorie ”Marge” Henderson Buell, Bill Woggon, John Byrne, Chris Claremont, Denis Kitchen, Frank Miller.
  • Bill Finger Award for Excellence in Comic Book Writing: John Stanley & Don McGregor
  • Russ Manning Promising Newcomer Award: (tie) Greg Smallwood; Jorge Corona
  • Spirit Retailer Award: Packrat Comics (Hilliard, Ohio)

For more information…

No Comments

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.