British Fantasy Award Nominations

The British Fantasy Away nominees have been announced. The winners be selected by the previously announced juries, while the British Fantasy Society committee will pick the winner of the special award (the Karl Edward Wagner Award). The winners will be announced at an awards ceremony at FantasyCon 2015 in Nottingham on 25 October 2015.

Best Anthology

  • The Alchemy Press Book of Urban Mythic 2, edited by Jan Edwards and Jenny Barber
  • Horror Uncut: Tales of Social Insecurity and Economic Unease, edited by by Joel Lane and Tom Johnstone
  • Lightspeed: Women Destroy Science Fiction Special Issue, edited by Christie Yant
  • The Spectral Book of Horror Stories, edited by Mark Morris
  • Terror Tales of Wales, edited by Paul Finch

Best Artist

  • Ben Baldwin
  • Vincent Chong
  • Les Edwards
  • Sarah Anne Langton
  • Karla Ortiz
  • Daniele Serra

Best Collection

  • Black Gods Kiss, by Lavie Tidhar
  • The Bright Day Is Done, by Carole Johnstone
  • Gifts for the One Who Comes After, by Helen Marshall
  • Nick Nightmare Investigates, by Adrian Cole
  • Scruffians! Stories of Better Sodomites, by Hal Duncan

Best Comic/Graphic Novel

  • Cemetery Girl, by Charlaine Harris, Christopher Golden and Don Kramer
  • Grandville Noël, by Bryan Talbot
  • Saga, by Brian K. Vaughan and Fiona Staples
  • Seconds, by Bryan Lee O’Malley
  • Through the Woods, by Emily Carroll
  • The Wicked + The Divine, by Kieron Gillen and Jamie McKelvie

Best Fantasy Novel (The Robert Holdstock Award)

  • Breed, by KT Davies
  • City of Stairs, by Robert Jackson Bennett
  • Cuckoo Song, by Frances Hardinge
  • A Man Lies Dreaming, by Lavie Tidhar
  • The Moon King, by Neil Williamson
  • The Relic Guild, by Edward Cox

Best Film/Television Episode

  • Birdman: Or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance), by Alejandro González Iñárritu
  • Black Mirror: White Christmas, by Charlie Brooker
  • Guardians of the Galaxy, by James Gunn and Nicole Perlman
  • Interstellar, by Christopher Nolan and Jonathan Nolan
  • Under the Skin, by Walter Campbell and Jonathan Glazer

Best Horror Novel (the August Derleth Award)

  • The End, by Gary McMahon
  • The Girl With All the Gifts, by M.R. Carey
  • The Last Plague, by Rich Hawkins
  • No One Gets Out Alive, by Adam Nevill
  • Station Eleven, by Emily St John Mandel
  • The Unquiet House, by Alison Littlewood

Best Independent Press

  • The Alchemy Press (Peter Coleborn)
  • Fox Spirit Books (Adele Wearing)
  • NewCon Press (Ian Whates)
  • Spectral Press (Simon Marshall-Jones)

Best Magazine/Periodical

  • Black Static, edited by Andy Cox
  • Holdfast Magazine, edited by Laurel Sills and Lucy Smee
  • Interzone, edited by Andy Cox
  • Lightspeed, edited by John Joseph Adams
  • Sein und Werden, edited by Rachel Kendall

Best Newcomer (The Sydney J. Bounds Award)

  • Edward Cox, for The Relic Guild
  • Sarah Lotz, for The Three
  • Laura Mauro, for “Ptichka”
  • Den Patrick, for The Boy with the Porcelain Blade
  • Jen Williams, for The Copper Promise

Best Non-Fiction

  • D.F. Lewis Dreamcatcher Real-Time Reviews, by D.F. Lewis
  • Ginger Nuts of Horror, edited by Jim McLeod
  • Letters to Arkham: The Letters of Ramsey Campbell and August Derleth, 1961–1971, edited by S.T. Joshi
  • Rhapsody: Notes on Strange Fictions, by Hal Duncan
  • Sibilant Fricative: Essays & Reviews, by Adam Roberts
  • Touchstones: Essays on the Fantastic, by John Howard
  • You Are the Hero: A History of Fighting Fantasy Gamebooks, by Jonathan Green

Best Novella

  • Cold Turkey, by Carole Johnstone
  • Drive, by Mark West
  • Newspaper Heart, by Stephen Volk
  • Water For Drowning, by Ray Cluley

Best Short Story

  • “A Change of Heart,” by Gaie Sebold
  • “The Girl on the Suicide Bridge,” by J.A. Mains
  • “Ptichka,” by Laura Mauro
  • “A Woman’s Place,” by Emma Newman

For more information…