Gernsback Winners

Steve Davidson has announced the top three finalists for the inaugural Gernsback Writing Contest, held by Amazing Stories. The final round of judging was accomplished by Cat Rambo, Dave Creek, and Jack Clemons. The top ten finalists will all have their stories published in an Amazing Stories anthology with the three top finalists also published on-line. All will receive professional rates. The top three finalists are:

  • “Lost Phoenixes,” by Stuart Barton
  • “Size of the Fight,” by Matthew Downer
  • “Penny of Tharsis Montes,” by Sean Monaghan

For more information…

Harvey Awards

The Harvey Awards were presented at the Baltimore Comic Con on September 27. The awards, named for Harvey Kurtzmann, recognize excellence in comics and sequential art. This year, Chip Zdarsky declined his Special Award for Humor in Comics noting that the nomination should have recognized his collaboration with Matt Fraction. According to Zdarsky, the committee refused to add Fraction to the ballot or remove Zdarsky from the ballot.

  • Best Writer: Mark Waid for Daredevil
  • Best Artist: Fiona Staples for Saga
  • Best Cartoonist: Terry Moore for Rachel Rising
  • Best Letterer: Jack Morelli for Afterlife With Archie
  • Best Inker: Danny Miki for Batman
  • Best Colorist: Dave Stewart for Hellboy In Hell
  • Best Cover Artist: Fiona Staples for Saga
  • Most Promising New Talent: Chad Lambert for Kill Me from Dark Horse Presents
  • Best New Series: Southern Bastards
  • Best Continuing or Limited Series: Saga
  • Best Syndicated Strip or Panel: Dick Tracy, by Joe Staton and Mike Curtis
  • Best Anthology: Dark Horse Presents
  • Best Graphic Album — Original: Jim Henson’s The Musical Monsters Of Turkey Hollow
  • Best Graphic Album — Previously Published: Mouse Guard: Baldwin The Brave And Other Tales
  • Best Single Issue or Story: “Breaking Out,” Dark Horse Presents #35
  • Best Domestic Reprint Project: Steranko Nick Fury Agent Of S.H.I.E.L.D. Artist’s Edition
  • Best American Edition of Foreign Material: Blacksad: Amarillo
  • Best Online Comics Work: The Private Eye, by Brian K. Vaughan, Marcos Martin, and Muntsa Vicente
  • Special Award for Humor in Comics: Chip Zdarsky for Sex Criminals
  • Best Biographical, Historical, or Journalistic Presentation: Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: The Ultimate Visual History, by Andrew Farago
  • Best Original Graphic Publication for Young Readers: Lumberjanes
  • Special Award for Excellence in Presentation: Little Nemo: Dream Another Dream, by Andrew Carl, Josh O’Neill, and Chris Stevens

For more information…

Fantasiknovelltävlingen Winners

The winners of the 2015 Fantasiknovelltävlingen (Fantastic Short Story Competition) were announced. The Fantasiknovelltävlingen has been running in Sweden since 2000 and is sponsored by SKRIVA, a writer’s list. A total of 2000 Swedish kroner were distributed to the winners. Prizes were sponsored by SF Bokhandeln bookstore, the magazine Skriva, the publishers Wela and Zenzat.

  • 1st Prize: “Bläcklingar,” by Fredrik Stennek
  • 2nd Prize: “Hon,” by Eva Ullerud
  • 3rd Prize: “Götheborg,” by Dennis Jacobsson

For more information…

Brin to be Author-in-Residence at Bard College

Science fiction author David Brin will serve as author-in-residence at the Hannah Arendt Center at Bard College from October 5-25. In his role there, Brin will work with students on their fiction and non-fiction writing. In addition, Brin will participate in two public talks, one on his book The Transparent Society: Will Technology Force Us to Choose between Privacy and Freedom? and one a debate on whether “National Security is More Important than the Individual Right to Privacy.”

For more information…

Water on Mars

NASA scientists announced today that they have found evidence of liquid water on Mars. A series of Recurrent Slope Lineae on the sides of some canyons, which darken seasonally, have shown evidence of salt deposits, leading scientists to believe that in certain seasons, there is some briny seepage that runs down the striations.
For more information…

Copper Cylinder Awards

The Sunburst Award Society has announced the winners of the Copper Cylinder Award, a popular vote award for the best Canadian fantastic literature. The award’s name comes from James de Mille’s “A Strange Manuscript Found in a Copper Cylinder,” widely considered to be the first work of Canadian science fiction.

  • Adult Award: The Back of the Turtle, by Thomas King
  • Young Adult Award: The Door in the Mountain, by Caitlin Sweet

For more information…

Obituary: D. West

Fan artist D. West (b.1945) died on September 25 shortly after being diagnosed with cancer. West’s work appeared in numerous fanzines and he won the Nova Award for Best Fan Artist eleven times between 1984 and 2014 as well as the Nova for Best Fan Writer in 1987. In 2011, he declined the Rotsler Award. West was also twice nominated for the Hugo for Best Fan Writer and once for Best Fan Artist. He also won 4 FAAN Awards. In the 1970s, he created the Astral Leauge (sic) in Leeds. His work appeared in Chunga, Izzard, Banana Wings, and other ‘zines.

Cóyotl Winners

The winners of the fourth annual Cóyotl Awards, honoring excellence in anthropomorphic fiction, were announced by the Furry Writers’ Guild at Rainfurrest in Seattle, WA.

  • Best Novel: Off the Beaten Path, by Rukis
  • Best Novella: “Huntress by Renee,” by Carter Hall
  • Best Short Story: “Jackalope Wives,” by Ursula Vernon
  • Best Anthology: Abandoned Places, edited by TarlHoch

For more information…

Spectrum Fantastic Art Live Moves Towns, Dates

After originating in Kansas City, MO, Spectrum Fantastic Art Live has announced that they will move to San Francisco, CA for their 2016 show. Furthermore, rather than hold the show in May, the event will now be held in October. At its new location, SFAL will partner with the Academy of Art University.
For more information…

Elgin and Dwarf Star Award Winners

The Science Fiction Poetry Association has announced the winners of this year’s Elgin Award for Books and Dwarf Star Awards for Short Speculative Poetry.

Elgin Awards

  • Book: Sweet Poison, by Marge Simon & Mary Turzillo
  • Chapbook: Wolf Skin, by Mary McMyne

Dwarf Star

  • “abandoned nursing home,” by Greg Shwartz

For more information…