Canopus Nominations

100 Year Starship has announced the finalists in their inaugural Canopus Award for Excellence in Interstellar Writing. The award recognizes works that contribute to the excitement, knowledge, and understanding of interstellar space exploration and travel. The winners will be announced on October 30, during the 100 Year Starship 2015 Public Symposium in Santa Clara, California.

Previously Published Long-Form Fiction (40,000 words or more):

  • Slow Bullets, by Alastair Reynolds
  • Other Systems, by Elizabeth Guizzetti
  • The Creative Fire, by Brenda Cooper
  • InterstellarNet: Enigma, by Edward M. Lerner
  • Aurora, by Kim Stanley Robinson
  • Coming Home, by Jack McDevitt

Previously Published Short-Form Fiction (between 1,000 and 40,000 words):

  • “Race for Arcadia,” by Alex Shvartsman
  • “Stars that Make Dark Heaven Light,” by Sharon Roest
  • “Homesick,” by Debbie Urbanski
  • “Twenty Lights to the Land of Snow,” by Michael Bishop
  • “Planet Lion,” by Catherine M. Valente
  • “The Waves,” by Ken Liu
  • “Dreamboat,” by Robin Wyatt Dunn

Original Fiction (1,000-5,000 words):

  • “Landfall,” by Jon F. Zeigler
  • “Project Fermi,” by Michael Turgeon
  • “Everett’s Awakening,” by Yelcho
  • “Groundwork,” by G. M. Nair
  • “His Holiness John XXIV about Father Angelo Baymasecchi’s Diary,” by Óscar Garrido González
  • “The Disease of Time,” by Joseph Schmidt

Original Non-Fiction (1,000-5,000 words):

  • “Why Interstellar Travel?” by Jeffrey Nosanov
  • “Finding Earth 2.0 from the Focus of the Solar Gravitational Lens,” by Louis Friedman and Slava Turyshev

For more information…

No Comments

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.