Lunacon Chair Resigns

Lunacon chair Mark Richards has announced his resignation as chair of Lunacon 2016. Richards was appointed chair in January 2015 after Lunacon announced that the 2015 iteration of the long-running convention would not be held. During his chairmanship, Lunacon held a crowd-sourced fundraisers to cover operating costs. The New York Science Fiction Society – the Lunarians has yet to announce a replacement, but has thanked Richards for her service.
For more information…

CBS, Paramount Sue over Trek

CBS and Paramount have announced a lawsuit against the producer of the fan-funded Star Trek fan film Axanar. The copyright infringement suit names both Axanar and Prelude to Axanar and seeks $150,000 for each element of Star Trek the films infringe. Axanar’s producer, Alec Peters , raised $638,000 on Kickstarter, more than half a million more than he targeted.

For more information…

ETA: corrected amount sought in the lawsuit.

Jemisin Reviews for the Times

The New York Times has announced that Nora Jemisin will begin a biweekly science fiction and fantasy review column entitled “Otherworldly.” The initial column features reviews of China Miéville’s This Census-Taker, Emma Newman’s Planetfall, Charlie Jane Anders’s All the Birds in the Sky, and Keith Lee Morris’s Travelers Rest.
For more information…

Lazlar Lyricon 3

ZZ9 Plural Z Alpha, the Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy fan group, has announced Lazlar Lyricon 3, a convention in praise of Adams’ work, scheduled for 9-11 June, 2017 in Stoke-on-Trent. The first two Lazlar Lyricons were held in the 1980s and 90s.
For more information…

Star Trek Stamps

The United States Post Office has announced that they will release a series of four stamps to mark the 50th anniversary of the debut of the original Star Trek television series. The designs show the starship Enterprise within the Starfleet insignia, the silhouette of a crewman caught in a transporter beam, the Enterprise shown from above, and the Vulcan hand salute often used by one of the show’s leading characters, Mr. Spock, framing a view of the Enterprise in orbit around a planet.

Several stamps with space themes, including a series commemorating the exploration of Pluto, a series focusing on the other 8 planets in the solar system, and a stamp with an image of the moon will also be issued in 2016.

For more information…

National Film Registry Additions

The Library of Congress has announced twenty-five films it has added to the National Film Registry. The Registry was established by the National Film Preservation Act and seeks to identify films that are culturally, historically, or aesthetically significant, to be preserved for all time. The genre films added to the list this year include the following films.

  • Dracula (1931, Spanish language version)
  • Ghostbusters

For more information…

Obituary: Harrison Simon

Las Vegas fan Harrison Simon (b.1975) committed suicide on December 26. Simon was involved in Las Vegas Wrestling and Comic Book fandoms and was also active in Vegrants. he was a charter member of the Trufannish Electronic Press Exchange

Obituary: George Clayton Johnson

Author George Clayton Johnson (b.1927) died on December 25. Clayton is best known as a the co-author of Logan’s Run and he was also active in Hollywood, writing episodes of The Twilight Zone and Alfred Hitchcock Presents as well as the first episode of Star Trek to air. In 1999, his short fiction was collected in All of Us Are Dying and Other Stories.

Obituary: Kathleen A. Bellamy

Kathleen A. Bellamy (b.1957) died on December 19. Bellamy served as the Managing Editor for Orson Scott Card’s Intergalactic Medicine Show. Bellamy was also involved in the magazine’s slush reading process.

Obituary: Carson van Osten

Artist Carson van Osten (b.1945) died on December 22. Van Osten began drawing for Disney in 1970 and over the years worked on comic books and animation for Disney and other studios. He created the Disney Comic Strip Artist’s Kit, a primer on perspective. In 1980, he moved into management at Disney and was named a Disney Legend earlier this year.