Nebula Nominations

Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America (SFWA) has announced the nominees for this year’s Nebula Awards, Norton Award, and Bradbury Award. All of the awards will be presented at the 50th annual Nebula Award Banquet in Chicago, IL on May 14, with Toast Master John Hodgman. All SFWA Active members may vote for the Nebulas from March 1 through March 31. This year’s SFWA Nebula Conference will take place at Chicago’s Palmer House from May 12-15.


  • Raising Caine, by Charles E. Gannon
  • The Fifth Season, by N.K. Jemisin
  • Ancillary Mercy, by Ann Leckie
  • The Grace of Kings, by Ken Liu
  • Uprooted, by Naomi Novik
  • Barsk: The Elephants’ Graveyard, by Lawrence M. Schoen
  • Updraft, by Fran Wilde


  • Wings of Sorrow and Bone, by Beth Cato
  • “The Bone Swans of Amandale,” by C.S.E. Cooney
  • “The New Mother,” by Eugene Fischer
  • “The Pauper Prince and the Eucalyptus Jinn,” by Usman T. Malik
  • Binti, by Nnedi Okorafor
  • “Waters of Versailles,” by Kelly Robson


  • “Rattlesnakes and Men,” by Michael Bishop
  • “And You Shall Know Her by the Trail of Dead,” by Brooke Bolander
  • “Grandmother-nai-Leylit’s Cloth of Winds,” by Rose Lemberg
  • “The Ladies’ Aquatic Gardening Society,” by Henry Lien
  • “The Deepwater Bride,” by Tamsyn Muir
  • “Our Lady of the Open Road,” by Sarah Pinsker

Short Story

  • “Madeleine,” by Amal El-Mohtar
  • “Cat Pictures Please,” by Naomi Kritzer
  • “Damage,” by David D. Levine
  • “When Your Child Strays From God,” by Sam J. Miller
  • “Today I Am Paul,” by Martin L. Shoemaker
  • “Hungry Daughters of Starving Mothers,” by Alyssa Wong

Ray Bradbury Award for Outstanding Dramatic Presentation

  • Ex Machina, Written by Alex Garland
  • Inside Out, Screenplay by Pete Docter, Meg LeFauve, Josh Cooley; Original Story by Pete Docter, Ronnie del Carmen
  • Jessica Jones: AKA Smile, Teleplay by Scott Reynolds & Melissa Rosenberg; Story by Jamie King & Scott Reynolds
  • Mad Max: Fury Road, Written by George Miller, Brendan McCarthy, Nick Lathouris
  • The Martian, Screenplay by Drew Goddard
  • Star Wars: The Force Awakens, Written by Lawrence Kasdan & J.J. Abrams and Michael Arndt

Andre Norton Award for Young Adult Science Fiction and Fantasy

  • Seriously Wicked, by Tina Connolly
  • Court of Fives, by Kate Elliott
  • Cuckoo Song, by Frances Hardinge
  • Archivist Wasp, by Nicole Kornher-Stace
  • Zeroboxer, by Fonda Lee
  • Shadowshaper, by Daniel José Older
  • Bone Gap, by Laura Ruby
  • Nimona, by Noelle Stevenson
  • Updraft, by Fran Wilde

For more information…
To attend the SFWA Nebula Conference…