Raftery Wins TAFF

Anna Raftery has won the 2016 TAFF race to send a European fan to MidAmeriCon II, this year’s Worldcon, in Kansas City. Raftery beat out Swedish fan Wolf von Witting by a vote of 92-82 with 12 no preferences.
For more information…

Philip K. Dick Award

The winner of this year’s Philip K. Dick Award for Best original paperback publication was announced at Norwescon on March 25. The Dick Award is sponsored by the Philadelphia Science Fiction Society and the Philip K. Dick Trust. This year’s judges were Eric James Fullilove, James C. Glass, David M. Higgins, Lisa Mason, and Jack Skillingstead.

  • Winner: Apex, by Ramez Naam
  • Special Citation: Archangel, by Marguerite Reed

For more information…

BSFA Awards

The British Science Fiction Association (BSFA) Award winners were announced on March 26 at Mancunicon, the British National Science Fiction Convention.

  • Best Novel: The House of Shattered Wings, by Aliette de Bodard
  • Best Short Story: “Three Cups of Grief, by Starlight,” by Aliette de Bodard
  • Best Non-Fiction: Rave and Let Die: The SF and Fantasy of 2014, by Adam Roberts
  • Best Artwork: Jim Burns, Cover of Pelquin’s Comet

For more information…

James White Award

The winner of the James White Award has been announced. This year, in addition to a winner, who will receive £200 and publication in a future issue of Interzone, the judges awarded a special commendation. This year’s judges included Ruth EJ Boot, Ian Sales, and Neil Williamson..

  • James White Award Winner: “Rock, Paper, Incisors,” by David Cleden.

For more information…

Ditmar Awards

The winners of the Ditmar Awards were announced on March 27 at Contact 2016, the Australian National SF Convention, held in Brisbane.

  • Best Novel: Lament for the Afterlife, by Lisa L. Hannett
  • Best Novella or Novelette: “Of Sorrow and Such,” by Angela Slatter
  • Best Short Story: “A Hedge of Yellow Roses,” by Kathleen Jennings, in Hear Me Roar
  • Best Collected Work: Cranky Ladies of History, edited by Tansy Rayner Roberts and Tehani Wessely
  • Best Artwork: Illustrations, by Shaun Tan, in The Singing Bone
  • Best Fan Publication in Any Medium: The Angriest, by Grant Watson
  • Best Fan Writer: Grant Watson, for body of work
  • Best Fan Artist: Kathleen Jennings, for body of work, including Illustration Friday series
  • Best New Talent: Rivqa Rafael
  • William Atheling Jr Award for Criticism or Review: Letters to Tiptree, edited by Alexandra Pierce and Alisa Krasnostein
  • Peter McNamara Achievement Award: Rowena Cory Daniells
  • Norma K. Hemming Award: Louise Katz for The Orchid Nursery
  • A. Bertram Chandler Award: James “Jocko” Allen

For more information…

Eastercons Selected

Two Eastercons were selected at Mancunicon. The 2017 Eastercon was selected to replace Pasgon, which was cancelled earlier this month. The 2018 Eastercon was also selected.

2017: Innominate will be held in Birmingham from April 14-17 in the Hilton Metropole. The Guests of Honour are Pat Cadigan, Judith Clute, and Colin Harris.

2018: Follycon will be held in Harrogate from March 30-April 2, 2018 at the Majestic Hotel. The Guests of Honour are Kieron Gillen, Christina Lake, Nnedi Okorafor, and Kim Stanley Robinson.

For more information about Follycon…

Aurealis Winners

The 2015 Aurealis Awards winners were announced on March 25 in Brisbane, Australia. The Aurealis Awards are given out annual for excellence in Australian speculative fiction.

  • Best Children’s Fiction: A Single Stone, by Meg McKinlay
  • Best Graphic Novel/Illustrated Work: The Singing Bones, by Shaun Tan
  • Best Young Adult Short Story: “The Miseducation of Mara Lys,” Deborah Kalin
  • Best Horror Short Story: “Bullets,” by Joanne Anderton
  • Best Horror Novella: “The Miseducation of Mara Lys,” by Deborah Kalin
  • Best Fantasy Short Story: “The Giant’s Lady,” by Rowena Cory Daniells
  • Best Fantasy Novella: “Defy the Grey Kings,” by Jason Fischer
  • Best Science Fiction Short Story: “All the Wrong Places,” by Sean Williams
  • Best Science Fiction Novella: “By Frogsled and Lizardback to Outcast Venusian Lepers,” by Garth Nix
  • Best Collection: To Hold the Bridge, by Garth Nix
  • Best Anthology: Bloodlines, edited by Amanda Pillar
  • Best Young Adult Novel: In The Skin of a Monster, by Kathryn Barker
  • Best Horror Novel: Day Boy, by Trent Jamieson
  • Best Fantasy Novel: Day Boy, by Trent Jamieson
  • Best Science Fiction Novel: Illuminae, by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff
  • Sara Douglass Book Series Award: The Watergivers [The Last Stormlord, Stormlord Rising, Stormlord’s Exile], by Glenda Larke
  • Convenor’s Award: Letters to Tiptree, by Alexandra Pierce and Alisa Krasnostein

For more information…

Obituary: Garry Shandling

Actor and comedian Garry Shandling (b.1949) died on March 24. Best known for The Garry Shandling Show and The Larry Sanders Show, he also acted in several films and television shows, including The X-Files, What Planet Are You From?, Iron Man 2, and Captain America: The Winter Soldier, portraying Senator Stern in the last two.

Galaktika Accused of Piracy

Pintér Bence has published an article claiming that the Hungarian magazine Galaktika has been pirating nearly all of its foreign language content. According to Bence, a study of the magazine’s table of contents reveals that with one exception any foreign works were taken from Clarkesworld, Strange Horizons, Lightspeed, Tor.com, or Popular Science. None of the authors whose work reappeared in Galaktika had granted permission or been paid for the publication of their work.
For more information… (in Hungarian)

Publish America v. Writer Beware Settled

A defamation lawsuit filed in 2014 by Publish America (now America Star Books) against Writer Beware, Victoria Strauss, Michael Capobianco, and Rich White has been settled. In addition to defamation, the lawsuit alleged conspiracy. In January 2016, America Star Books’ attorney reached out to settle the lawsuit. America Star agreed to release all claims asserted against Writer Beware (et al.), and to stipulate to Dismissal With Prejudice. ASB does not admit lack of merit and the Writer Beware group does not admit any liability. Writer Beware is an organization which focuses on warning authors of predatory practices in the publishing industry.
For more information…