Spectrum Award Finalists

The jury for Spectrum 23: The Best in Contemporary Fantastic Art has announced nominees in eight categories. The list was created by judges David Palumbo, Cynthia Sheppard, Kirk Thatcher, Charlie Wen and Terryl Whitlatch. Winners of the Gold and Silver Awards will be announced at the Spectrum 23 Awards Ceremony, held at the Society of Illustrators in New York City on Saturday, May 7. The 2016 Spectrum Grand Master Award honoree will also be announced during the ceremony.


  • Nico Delort for “The Blessing of Athena”
  • Bartosz Kosowski for “Discworld”
  • Colin Poole for “Vishnu’s Third Avatar”
  • Andrew Thompson for “Glitch”
  • Joseph Qiu for “24 Hour Movie Marathon”


  • Chris Ayers for Munchasaurus Rex
  • Rovina Cai for Tom, Thom
  • Donato Giancola for Vesuvius
  • Karla Ortiz for Sorcerer of the Wildeeps
  • Annie Stegg Gerard for Renard and the Strawberries


  • Daren Bader for Tribes of Kai, page 41
  • Gael Bertrand for Island #4 cover
  • Tyler Crook for Harrow County #1 cover
  • Nic Klein for Drifter
  • Paolo Rivera for Hellboy 1953

Concept Art

  • Mirko Failoni for “The Mushroom Forest”
  • Te Hu for “Journey to West”
  • Vance Kovacs for “King Louie’s Court”
  • Seth Rutledge for “Window View”
  • Dejian Wu for “Dragon Island”


  • Akihito for “Death Wings”
  • Thomas Kuebler for “Adelpha and Her Sister”
  • Patrick Masson for “The Blind Death”
  • Forest Rogers for “The Morrigan”
  • Dug Stanat for “Meeting Master Jones”


  • Donato Giancola for “Empathy”
  • Tran Nguyen for “Traveling To a Distant Day”
  • Greg Ruth for “Finnegan’s Field”
  • Chris Seaman for “Family Portraithausen: A Tribute to Ray Harryhausen”
  • Sam Weber for “The Language of Knives”


  • Julie Bell for “Behind the Veil”
  • Wesley Burt for “Natural Connection”
  • Bill Carman for “Medieval Batman”
  • Te Hu for “Offering”
  • Tyler Jacobson for “Exalted Angel”


  • Dragan Bibin for “Pull”
  • Jaemin Kim for “King Under the Mountain”
  • Greg Opalinski for “Initiate”
  • Rob Rey for “Bioluminescence”
  • Wayne Haag for “Dust Devil”

For more information…