Shirley Jackson Award Nominees

The Shirley Jackson Awards were established to recognize outstanding achievement in the literature of psychological suspense, horror, and the dark fantastic. The winners will be announced on July 10 at Readercon 27 in Quincy, Massachusetts.


  • Eileen, by Ottessa Moshfegh
  • Experimental Film, by Gemma Files
  • The Glittering World, by Robert Levy
  • Lord Byron’s Prophecy, by Sean Eads
  • When We Were Animals, by Joshua Gaylord


  • The Box Jumper, by Lisa Mannetti
  • In the Lovecraft Museum, by Steve Tem
  • Unusual Concentrations, by S.J. Spurrier
  • The Visible Filth, by Nathan Ballingrud
  • Wylding Hall, by Elizabeth Hand


  • “The Briskwater Mare,” by Deborah Kalin
  • “The Deepwater Bride,” by Tamsyn Muir
  • “Even Clean Hands Can Do Damage,” by Steve Duffy
  • “Fabulous Beasts,” by Priya Sharma
  • “The Thyme Fiend,” by Jeffrey Ford

Short Fiction

  • “A Beautiful Memory,” by Shannon Peavey
  • “Hungry Daughters of Starving Mothers,” by Alyssa Wong
  • “Seven Minutes in Heaven,” by Nadia Bulkin
  • “The Dying Season,” by Lynda E. Rucker
  • “Wilderness,” by Letitia Trent

Single-Author Collection

  • The Bazaar of Bad Dreams, by Stephen King
  • The End of the End of Everything, by Dale Bailey
  • Get in Trouble, by Kelly Link
  • Gutshot, by Amelia Gray
  • The Nameless Dark – A Collection, by T.E. Grau
  • You Have Never Been Here, by Mary Rickert

Edited Anthology

  • Aickman’s Heirs, edited by Simon Strantzas
  • Black Wings IV, edited by S.T. Joshi
  • The Doll Collection, edited by Ellen Datlow
  • Exigencies, edited by Richard Thomas
  • Seize the Night, edited by Christopher Golden

For more information…

No Comments

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.