Nebula Winners

The Nebula Awards were presented on Saturday, May 14 during the SFWA Nebula Conference (chaired by Steven H Silver, which explains the delayed news postings on this site). The ceremony began with a performance of “Radio SFWA,” followed by a speech by toastmaster John Hodgman. The evening ended with nominees who didn’t win presenting the traditional “Alternate Universe Speeches.” The winners are listed below.

  • Best Novel: Uprooted, by Naomi Novik
  • Best Novella: Binti, by Nnedi Okorafor
  • Best Novelette: “Our Lady of the Open Road,” by Sarah Pinsker
  • Best Short Story: “Hungry Daughters of Starving Mothers,” by Alyssa Wong
  • Damon Knight Memorial Grand Master Award: C. J. Cherryh
  • Andre Norton Award for Young Adult Science Fiction and Fantasy: Updraft, by Fran Wilde
  • Kate Wilhelm Solstice Award: Sir Terry Pratchett
  • Ray Bradbury Award for Outstanding Dramatic Presentation: Mad Max: Fury Road, by George Miller, Brendan McCarthy, and Nick Lathouris
  • Kevin O’Donnell, Jr. Award for Service to SFWA: Dr. Lawrence M. Schoen

Obituary: William Schallert

Actor William Schallert (b.1922) died on May 8. Although best known as the father on The Patty Duke Show, Schallert appeared in numerous genre films and television shows, including Lois & Clark: The New Adventures of Superman, Quantum Leap, Innerspace, Legends of the Superheroes, and in “The Trouble with Tribbles.”

Edge Hill Award Shortlist

The shortlist of the 2016 Edge Hill Prize has been announced. The award is given for excellence in a published short story collection. The main prize is £10,000, with an additional £1,000 Readers’ Prize, and a category worth £500 recognizing rising talents on Edge Hill University’s own MA Creative Writing course.

  • Three Moments of an Explosion, by China Miéville
  • Don’t Try This at Home, by Angela Readman
  • An Account of the Decline of the Great Auk, According to the One Who Saw It, by Jessie Greengrass
  • The Not-Dead and the Saved, by Kate Clanchy
  • Your Father Sends his Love, by Stuart Evers
  • We Don’t Know What We’re Doing, by Thomas Morris

For more information…

Obituary: Darwyn Cooke

Comic book writer and artist Darwyn Cooke (b.1962) died on May 14. Cooke was best known for his work on Catwoman, DC: The New Frontier, The Spirit, and Richard Stark’s Parker: The Hunter. Following the publication of his first comic in 1985, he didn’t work in comics again until 2000, although he was involved as an story boarder on Batman: The Animated Series and Superman: The Animated Series. In 2006, he won an Eisner Award.

Audie Awards

The 2016 Audie Awards were presented at the Adler Planetarium in Chicago during BookExpo America. Winners of genre interest are listed below.

  • Audio Drama: Rudyard Kipling’s The Jungle Book: The Mowgli Stories, by Rudyard Kipling; narrated by Bill Bailey, Richard E. Grant, Colin Salmon, Tim McInnerny, Bernard Cribbins, Celia Imrie, and Martin Shaw
  • Fantasy: Nice Dragons Finish Last, by Rachel Aaron; narrated by Vikas Adam
  • History/Biography: A Man on the Moon, by Andrew Chaikin and Tom Hanks; narrated by Bronson Pinchot
  • Middle School: Echo, by Pam Munoz Ryan; Narrated by Mark Bramhall, David deVries, MacLeod Andrews, and Rebecca Soler
  • Mulit-Voiced Production: Illuminae, by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff; narrated by Olivia Taylor Dudley, Lincoln Hoppe, and Jonathan McClain
  • Narrated by the Author: Born with Teeth, by Kate Mulgrew; narrated by Kate Mulgrew
  • Paranormal: White Trash Zombie Gone Wild, by Diana Rowland; narrated by Allison McLemore
  • Science Fiction: Jurassic Park, by Michael Crichton; narrated by Scott Brick
  • Young Adult: Lair of Dreams, by Libba Bray; narrated by January LaVoy
  • Young Listeners: Little Shop of Monsters, by R.L. Stine and Marc Brown; narrated by Jack Black
  • Excellence in Design: The Hunger Games Trilogy Collection, by Suzanne Collins; package/cover design by Kathlyn Miller
  • Excellence in Marketing: Locke & Key, by Joe Hill land Gabriel Rodriguez; Haley Joel Osment, Tatiana Maslany, Kate Mulgrew, and a full cast
  • Excellence in Production: Rudyard Kipling’s The Jungle Book: The Mowgli Stories, by Rudyard Kipling; narrated by Bill Bailey, Richard E. Grant, Colin Salmon, Tim McInnerny, Bernard Cribbins, Celia Imrie, and Martin Shaw

For more information…

Obituary: Peter Thomas

Announcer Peter Thomas (b.1924) died on April 30. Thomas’s voice was recognizable for his voiceover work on NOVA and Nature. Thomas’s voice can be heard on several other science documentaries as well.

Obituary: André Fernand Brahic

Astrophysicist André Fernand Brahic (b.1942) died on May 15. Brahic is credited with discovering the rings around Neptune. Brahic noted that science “could make the eyes of small children light up”.

SFWA Plans to Add Game Writers

At the SFWA Business Meeting on May 14, Fran Wilde announced that SFWA has elected to permit game writers to apply for membership once eligibility guidelines have been set.

Stoker Awards Presented

The 2015 Stoker Awards were presented on May 14 at StokerCon in Las Vegas.

  • Superior Achievement in a Novel: A Head Full of Ghosts, by Paul Tremblay
  • Superior Achievement in a First Novel: Mr. Suicide, by Nicole Cushing
  • Superior Achievement in a Young Adult Novel: Devil’s Pocket, by John Dixo
  • Superior Achievement in a Graphic Novel: Shadow Show: Stories in Celebration of Ray Bradbury, edited by Sam Weller, Mort Castle, Chris Ryall, & Carlos Guzman
  • Superior Achievement in Long Fiction: “Little Dead Red,” by Mercedes M. Yardley
  • Superior Achievement in Short Fiction: “Happy Joe’s Rest Stop,” by John Palisano
  • Superior Achievement in a Screenplay: It Follows, by David Robert Mitchell
  • Superior Achievement in an Anthology: The Library of the Dead, edited by Michael Bailey
  • Superior Achievement in a Fiction Collection: While the Black Stars Burn, by Lucy A. Snyder
  • Superior Achievement in Non-Fiction: The Art of Horror, by Stephen Jones
  • Superior Achievement in a Poetry Collection: Eden Underground, by Alessandro Manzetti
  • Specialty Press Award: Borderlands Press
  • The Richard Laymon President’s Award: to Patrick Freivald and Andrew Wolter
  • Silver Hammer Award: Michael Knost
  • The Mentor of the Year Award: Tim Waggoner
  • Lifetime Achievement Awards: Alan Moore and George A. Romero

For more information…

News from Corflu

Corflu Chiflu took place in Chicago the weekend of May 13-15, chaired by Nigel Rowe. During the convention, the location of Corflu 34 as selected. The con will be held from April 29-30, 2017 at the Warner Center Marriott Hotel in Woodland Hills with Marty Cantor chairing.

During the convention, the FAAN Awards were presented.

  • Best Genzine of 2015 (tie): Chunga, edited by Randy Byers, Andy Hooper and carl juarez; Raucous Caucus, edited by Pat Charnock
  • Best Personal Zine of 2015: Vibrator, edited by Graham Charnock
  • Best Special Publication of 2015: The MOTA Reader, edited by Dan Steffan
  • Best Fan Website of 2015:, managed by Bill Burns
  • Best Fan Writer of 2015: Roy Kettle
  • Best Fan Artist of 2015: Steve Stiles
  • Best Letterhack of 2015 (The Harry Warner, Jr. Memorial Award for Best Fan Correspondent): Paul Skelton
  • Best Fanzine Cover of 2015: Raucous Caucus #4, by D West with Harry Bell
  • Number One Fan Face of 2015: Dan Steffan
  • Lifetime Achievement Award: John Bangsund

Many members of Chiflu also seen at Wrigley Field or at the nearby Nebula Conference to participate in early morning architectural/history walks or the mass autographing.