British Fantasy Award Shortlist

The 2016 British Fantasy Award short list has been announced. The winners of these awards will now be decided by the previously announced juries. The winners will be announced at the awards ceremony on Sunday September 25, 2016, at FantasyCon 2016 in Scarborough: FantasyCon By The Sea.

Best Anthology

  • African Monsters, edited by Margrét Helgadóttir and Jo Thomas
  • Aickman’s Heirs, edited by Simon Strantzas
  • Best British Horror 2015, edited by Johnny Mains
  • The Doll Collection, edited by Ellen Datlow
  • The 2nd Spectral Book of Horror Stories, edited by Mark Morris

Best Artist

  • Ben Baldwin
  • Vincent Chong
  • Julie Dillon
  • Evelinn Enoksen
  • Sarah Anne Langton
  • Jeffrey Alan Love

Best Collection

  • Ghost Summer: Stories, by Tananarive Due
  • Monsters, by Paul Kane
  • Probably Monsters, by Ray Cluley
  • Scar City, by Joel Lane
  • Skein and Bone, by V.H. Leslie
  • The Stars Seem So Far Away, by Margrét Helgadóttir

Best Comic/Graphic Novel

  • Bitch Planet (#2–5), by Kelly Sue DeConnick, Valentine De Landro, Robert Wilson IV and Cris Peter
  • Ms. Marvel, Vol. 2: Generation Why, by G. Willow Wilson, Jacob Wyatt and Adrian Alphona
  • Nimona, by Noelle Stevenson
  • Red Sonja (#14–18), by Gail Simone and Walter Geovani
  • Saga (#25–32), by Brian K. Vaughan and Fiona Staples
  • The Sandman: Overture, by Neil Gaiman, J.H. Williams III and Dave Stewart

Best Fantasy Novel (the Robert Holdstock Award)

  • Guns of the Dawn, by Adrian Tchaikovsky
  • Half a War, by Joe Abercrombie
  • The Iron Ghost, by Jen Williams
  • Signal to Noise, by Silvia Moreno-Garcia
  • Sorcerer to the Crown, by Zen Cho
  • Uprooted, by Naomi Novik

Best Film/Television Production

  • Inside No. 9: The Trial of Elizabeth Gadge, by Reece Shearsmith and Steve Pemberton
  • Jessica Jones: AKA WWJD?, by Scott Reynolds
  • Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell, by Peter Harness
  • Mad Max: Fury Road, by George Miller, Brendan McCarthy and Nico Lathouris
  • Midwinter of the Spirit, by Stephen Volk
  • Star Wars: The Force Awakens, by Lawrence Kasdan, J.J. Abrams and Michael Arndt

Best Horror Novel (the August Derleth Award)

  • A Cold Silence, by Alison Littlewood
  • The Death House, by Sarah Pinborough
  • Lost Girl, by Adam Nevill
  • Rawblood, by Catriona Ward
  • The Silence, by Tim Lebbon
  • Welcome to Night Vale, by Joseph Fink and Jeffrey Cranor

Best Independent Press

  • The Alchemy Press (Peter Coleborn and Jan Edwards)
  • Angry Robot (Marc Gascoigne)
  • Fox Spirit Books (Adele Wearing)
  • Newcon Press (Ian Whates)

Best Magazine/Periodical

  • Beneath Ceaseless Skies, edited by Scott H. Andrews
  • Black Static, edited by Andy Cox
  • Holdfast Magazine, edited by Laurel Sills and Lucy Smee
  • Interzone, edited by Andy Cox
  • Strange Horizons, edited by Niall Harrison

Best Newcomer (the Sydney J. Bounds Award)

  • Becky Chambers, for The Long Way to a Small Angry Planet
  • Zen Cho, for Sorcerer to the Crown
  • Peter Newman, for The Vagrant
  • Steven Poore, for The Heir to the North
  • Marc Turner, for When the Heavens Fall

Best Non-Fiction

  • The Art of Horror: An Illustrated History, edited by Stephen Jones
  • Fantasy-Faction, edited by Marc Aplin and Jennie Ivins
  • Ginger Nuts of Horror, edited by Jim Mcleod
  • King for a Year, edited by Mark West
  • Letters to Tiptree, edited by Alexandra Pierce and Alisa Krasnostein
  • Matrilines, by Kari Sperring

Best Novella

  • Albion Fay, by Mark Morris
  • Binti, by Nnedi Okorafor
  • The Bureau of Them, by Cate Gardner
  • The Pauper Prince and the Eucalyptus Jinn, by Usman T. Malik
  • Witches of Lytchford, by Paul Cornell

Best Short Fiction

  • “The Blue Room,” by V.H. Leslie
  • “Dirt Land,” by Ralph Robert Moore
  • “Fabulous Beasts,” by Priya Sharma
  • “Hippocampus,” by Adam Nevill
  • “Strange Creation,” by Frances Kay
  • “When The Moon Man Knocks,” by Cate Gardner

For more information…