Chesley Nominees

ASFA has announced the nominees for this year’s Chesley Awards, which will be presented at MidAmeriCon II, the 74th Worldcon, in Kansas City, MO the week of August 17-21.

Best Cover Illustration: Hardcover Book

  • Richard Anderson for The Dinosaur Lords, by Victor Milan
  • Lius Lasahido for Hannu Rajaniemi: Collected Fiction, by Hannu Rajaniemi
  • Todd Lockwood for Voyage of the Basilisk, by Marie Brennan
  • Cynthia Sheppard for Karen Memory, by Elizabeth Bear
  • Sam Weber for Dune, by Frank Herbert

Best Cover Illustration: Paperback Book

  • Julie Dillon for The Very Best of Kate Elliott, by Kate Elliott
  • Tyler Jacobson for Beyond the Pool of Stars, by Howard Andrew Jones
  • Jeffery Alan Love for Wolfhound Century, by Peter Higgins
  • David Palumbo for Binti, by Nnedi Okorafer
  • John Picacio for Invasion of the Body Snatchers, by Jack Finney

Best Cover Illustration: Magazine

  • Maurizio Manzieri for Asimov’s, Oct/Nov 2015
  • Reiko Murakami for Lightspeed #63
  • Tran Nguyen for Uncanny #4
  • Greg Ruth for Alabaster: The Good, the Bad, and the Bird #1
  • shichigoro-shingo for Clarkesworld #109

Best Interior Illustration

  • Galen Dara for “Tuesdays with Molakesh The Destroyer,” by Megan Grey
  • Marcel Mercado for Southlands RPG
  • Peter Mohrbacher for Angelarium: Book of Emanations, by Peter Mohrbacher & Eli Minaya
  • Tran Nguyen for “Transition Management Survey”
  • Sam Weber for Dune, by Frank Herbert

Best Color Work: Unpublished

  • Joseph Bellofatto for Star Ship, Oil
  • Donato Giancola for Beron and Luthien in the Court of Thingal and Melian, Oil
  • Wayne Haag for Desert Wreck, Oil
  • Jessica TC Lee for Enchanted, Digital
  • Elizabeth Leggett for After Hours, Digital
  • Mark Poole for Memories, Oil
  • Eric Velhagen for Felines, Oil

Best Monochrome Work: Unpublished

  • Rovina Cai for Cold Wind
  • Jeremy Enecio for Progeny, Graphite on Moleskin
  • Travis Lewis for Symbiosis, Graphite
  • Mark Molchan for Return, Graphite
  • Ruth Sanderson for Invoking the Dragon, Ink/Scratchboard
  • Chris Seaman for Family Portraithausen, Acrylic
  • Allen Williams for Bound, Graphite & Gold leaf accent

Best Three-Dimensional Art

  • Devon Dorrity for Flight of the Merrow, Clay & Bronze
  • Thomas Kuebler for Adelpha and Her Sister, Mixed
  • Stelios Mousarris for Inception Coffee Table, Wood
  • Forest Rogers for The Morrigan, Mixed
  • Virginie Ropars for Okunoshima, Mixed
  • Vincent Villafranca for Dark Day for the Metal Heads, Bronze

Best Product Illustration

  • Linda Adair for Adolescence – Promo art for IlluXcon 2016
  • Mitchell Bentley for Mitchell Davidson Bentley 2015 Calendar
  • Rovina Cai for Black Hole – card for Cosmos Tarot & Oracle Deck
  • Jacob Murray for A Game of Thrones: The Card Game – 2nd edition box art
  • John Picacio for El Arbol – Loteria card
  • Magali Villeneuve for George R.R. Martin: Song of Ice and Fire – 2016 calendar

Best Gaming – Related Illustration

  • Clint Cearley for Mind Rot, Dragons of Tarkir Magic Card
  • Vincent Proce for Guardian Automaton, Magic Origins Magic Card
  • Anna Steinbauer for Blessed Spirits, Magic Origins Magic Card
  • Ryan Yee for Fruit of the First Tree, Fate Reforged Magic Card,
  • Min Yum for Sandblast, Fate Reforged Magic Card

Best Art Director

  • Neil Clarke for Clarkesworld magazine
  • Irene Gallo for Tor Books &
  • Jeremy Jarvis for Wizards of the Coast
  • Elizabeth Leggett for Lightspeed magazine
  • Lauren Panepinto for Orbit Books & Muddy Colors contributor
  • Betsy Wolheim & Sheila Gilbert for DAW Books

Lifetime Artistic Achievement

  • Kinuko Y. Craft
  • David A. Hardy
  • Greg Manchess
  • Iain McCaig
  • Wendy Pini
  • Drew Struzan

For more information…