Campbell & Sturgeon Finalists

The nominees for the John W. Campbell, Jr. Memorial Award and the Theodore Sturgeon Memorial Award have been announced. The Campbell award is given for a novel, the Sturgeon for a short story. Both awards will be presented during the Campbell Conference, this year held in conjunction with MidAmeriCon II in Kansas City.
John W. Campbell, Jr. Memorial Award

  • The Water Knife, by Paolo Bacigalupi
  • Europe at Midnight, by Dave Hutchinson
  • Radiomen, by Eleanor Lerman
  • Luna: New Moon, by Ian McDonald
  • Galapagos Regained, by James Morrow
  • Going Dark, by Linda Nagata
  • The Book of Phoenix, by Nnedi Okorafor
  • Where, by Kit Reed
  • The Thing Itself, by Adam Roberts
  • Aurora, by Kim Stanley Robinson
  • Seveneves, by Neal Stephenson

Theodore Sturgeon Memorial Award

  • “And You Shall Know Her By The Trail Of Dead,” by Brooke Bolander
  • “The Four Thousand, the Eight Hundred,” by Greg Egan
  • “The New Mother,” by Eugene Fischer
  • “Folding Beijing,” by Hao Jingfang, translated by Ken Liu
  • “Emergence,” by Gwyneth Jones
  • “Damage,” by David D. Levine
  • “The Game of Smash and Recovery,” by Kelly Link
  • “Botanica Veneris: Thirteen Papercuts by Ida Countess Rathangan,” by Ian McDonald
  • “Our Lady of the Open Road,” by Sarah Pinsker
  • “The Three Resurrections of Jessica Churchill,” by Kelly Robson
  • “Gypsy,” by Carter Scholz
  • “Avery Cates: The Walled City,” by Jeff Somers

For more information…