World Fantasy Award Nominations

The ballot for this year’s World Fantasy Award has been announced. The winners will be announced at a banquet at the World Fantasy Con held in Columbus, OH the weekend of October 27-30, 2016.


  • The Buried Giant, by Kazuo Ishiguro
  • The Fifth Season, by N.K. Jemisin
  • Uprooted, by Naomi Novik
  • Savages, by K.J. Parker
  • The Chimes, by Anna Smaill
  • A Head Full of Ghosts, by Paul Tremblay

Long Fiction

  • The Unlicensed Magician, by Kelly Barnhill
  • “The Pauper Prince and the Eucalyptus Jinn,” by Usman T. Malik
  • “Guignol” by Kim Newman
  • “Waters of Versailles” by Kelly Robson
  • “Farewell Blues,” by Bud Webster

Short Fiction

  • “The Neurastheniac” by Selena Chambers
  • “Pockets” by Amal El-Mohtar
  • “The Heat of Us: Notes Toward an Oral History” by Sam J. Miller
  • “The Deepwater Bride” by Tamsyn Muir
  • “Hungry Daughters of Starving Mothers” by Alyssa Wong


  • The Doll Collection,, edited by Ellen Datlow
  • Black Wings IV, edited by S.T. Joshi
  • She Walks in Shadows, edited by Silvia Moreno-Garcia & Paula R. Stiles
  • Cassilda’s Song, edited by Joseph S. Pulver, Sr.
  • Aickman’s Heirs, edited by Simon Strantzas


  • Bone Swans, by C.S.E. Cooney
  • Leena Krohn: Collected Fiction, by Leena Krohn
  • Skein and Bone, by V.H. Leslie
  • Get in Trouble, by Kelly Link
  • Reality by Other Means: The Best Short Fiction of James Morrow, by James Morrow
  • You Have Never Been Here, by Mary Rickert


  • Richard Anderson
  • Galen Dara
  • Julie Dillon
  • Kathleen Jennings
  • Thomas S. Kuebler

Special Award, Professional

  • Neil Gaiman, Dave Stewart, & J.H. Williams III, for The Sandman: Overture
  • Stephen Jones, for The Art of Horror
  • Robert Jordan, Harriet McDougal, Alan Romanczuk, & Maria Simons, for The Wheel of Time Companion
  • Joe Monti, for contributions to the genre
  • Heather J. Wood, for Gods, Memes and Monsters: A 21st Century Bestiary

Special Award, Nonprofessional

  • Scott H. Andrews, for Beneath Ceaseless Skies
  • Jedediah Berry & Eben Kling, for The Family Arcana: A Story in Cards
  • John O’Neill, for Black Gate
  • Alexandra Pierce & Alisa Krasnostein, for Letters to Tiptree
  • Lynne M. Thomas & Michael Damian Thomas, for Uncanny
  • Helen Young, for Tales After Tolkien Society

For more information…