Eisner Awards

The winners of the Will Eisner Comic Industry Awards were announced at Comic Con International on July 22.

  • Best Short Story: “Killing and Dying,” by Adrian Tomine
    Best Single Issue/One-Shot: Silver Surfer #11: “Never After,” by Dan Slott and Michael Allred

  • Best Continuing Series: Southern Bastards, by Jason Aaron and Jason Latour
  • Best Limited Series: The Fade Out, by Ed Brubaker and Sean Phillips
  • Best New Series: Paper Girls, by Brian K. Vaughan and Cliff Chiang
  • Best Publication for Early Readers (up to age 8): Little Robot, by Ben Hatke
  • Best Publication for Kids (ages 9-12): Over the Garden Wall, by Pat McHale and Jim Campbell1
  • Best Publication for Teens (ages 13-17): SuperMutant Magic Academy, by Jillian Tarnaki
  • Best Humor Publication: Step Aside, Pops: A Hark! A Vagrant Collection, by Kate Beaton
  • Best Digital/Webcomic: Bandette, by Paul Tobin and Colleen Coover
  • Best Anthology: Drawn & Quarterly, Twenty-Five Years of Contemporary, Cartooning, Comics, and Graphic Novels, edited by Tom Devlin
  • Best Reality-Based Work: March: Book Two, by John Lewis, Andrew Aydin, and Nate Powell
  • Best Graphic Album—New: Ruins, by Peter Kuper
  • Best Graphic Album—Reprint: Nimona, by Nicole Stevenson
  • Best Adaptation from Another Medium: Two Brothers, by Fábio Moon and Gabriel Bá
  • Best U.S. Edition of International Material: The Realist, by Asaf Hanuka
  • Best U.S. Edition of International Material—Asia: Showa, 1953–1989: A History of Japan, by Shigeru Mizuki
  • Best Archival Collection/Project—Strips: The Eternaut, by Héctor Germán Oesterheld and Francisco Solano Lòpez, edited by Gary Groth and Kristy Valenti
  • Best Archival Collection/Project—Comic Books: Walt Kelly’s Fairy Tales, edited by Craig Yoe
  • Best Writer: Jason Aaron, Southern Bastards, Men of Wrath, Doctor Strange, Star Wars, Thor
  • Best Writer/Artist: Bill Griffith, Invisible Ink: My Mother’s Secret Love Affair with a Famous Cartoonist
  • Best Penciller/Inker or Penciller/Inker Team: Cliff Chiang, Paper Girls
  • Best Painter/Multimedia Artist: Dustin Nguyen, Descender
  • Best Cover Artist: David Aja, Hawkeye, Karnak, Scarlet Witch
  • Best Coloring: Jordie Bellaire, The Autumnlands, Injection, Plutona, Pretty Deadly, The Surface, They’re Not Like Us, Zero, The X-Files, The Massive, Magneto, Vision
  • Best Lettering: Derf Backderf, Trashed
  • Best Comics-Related Periodical/Journalism: : Hogan’s Alley, edited by Tom Heintjes
  • Best Comics-Related Book: : Harvey Kurtzman: The Man Who Created Mad and Revolutionized Humor in America, by Bill Schelly
  • Best Academic/Scholarly Work: The Blacker the Ink: Constructions of Black Identity in Comics and Sequential Art, edited by Frances Gateward and John Jennings
  • Best Publication Design: Sandman Gallery Edition, designed by Graphitti Designs and Josh Beatman/Brainchild Studios
  • Hall of Fame Award: Carl Burgos, Tove Jansson, Lynda Barry, Rube Goldberg, Jacques Tardi, Matt Groening
  • Bill Finger Award for Excellence in Comic Book Writing: Elliot S! Maggin, Richard E. Hughes
  • Bob Clampett Humanitarian Award: The Oatmeal’s Matthew Inman
  • Will Eisner Spirit of Comics Retailer Award: Orbital Comics & Gallery, Karl Asaa, Damian Keeng & James Wilson, London, UK
  • Russ Manning Promising Newcomer Award: Dan Mora

For more information…