Scribe Awards

The International Association of Media Tie-in Writers presented the the 2016 Scribe Awards, given for the best in tie-in fiction from 2015, on July 22.

  • Best Original Novel – General: 24: Rogue, by David Mack
  • Best Original Novel – Speculative: Star Trek The Next Generation: Armageddon’s Arrow, by Dayton Ward
  • Best Adapted Novel – General and Speculative: Mano The Hands of Fate, by Stephen D. Sullivan
  • Best Short Story: Mike Hammer The Strand: “Fallout,” by Mickey Spillane and Max Allan Collins
  • Best Audio: Doctor Who: “The Red Lady,” by John Dorney

For more information…

Eisner Awards

The winners of the Will Eisner Comic Industry Awards were announced at Comic Con International on July 22.

  • Best Short Story: “Killing and Dying,” by Adrian Tomine
    Best Single Issue/One-Shot: Silver Surfer #11: “Never After,” by Dan Slott and Michael Allred

  • Best Continuing Series: Southern Bastards, by Jason Aaron and Jason Latour
  • Best Limited Series: The Fade Out, by Ed Brubaker and Sean Phillips
  • Best New Series: Paper Girls, by Brian K. Vaughan and Cliff Chiang
  • Best Publication for Early Readers (up to age 8): Little Robot, by Ben Hatke
  • Best Publication for Kids (ages 9-12): Over the Garden Wall, by Pat McHale and Jim Campbell1
  • Best Publication for Teens (ages 13-17): SuperMutant Magic Academy, by Jillian Tarnaki
  • Best Humor Publication: Step Aside, Pops: A Hark! A Vagrant Collection, by Kate Beaton
  • Best Digital/Webcomic: Bandette, by Paul Tobin and Colleen Coover
  • Best Anthology: Drawn & Quarterly, Twenty-Five Years of Contemporary, Cartooning, Comics, and Graphic Novels, edited by Tom Devlin
  • Best Reality-Based Work: March: Book Two, by John Lewis, Andrew Aydin, and Nate Powell
  • Best Graphic Album—New: Ruins, by Peter Kuper
  • Best Graphic Album—Reprint: Nimona, by Nicole Stevenson
  • Best Adaptation from Another Medium: Two Brothers, by Fábio Moon and Gabriel Bá
  • Best U.S. Edition of International Material: The Realist, by Asaf Hanuka
  • Best U.S. Edition of International Material—Asia: Showa, 1953–1989: A History of Japan, by Shigeru Mizuki
  • Best Archival Collection/Project—Strips: The Eternaut, by Héctor Germán Oesterheld and Francisco Solano Lòpez, edited by Gary Groth and Kristy Valenti
  • Best Archival Collection/Project—Comic Books: Walt Kelly’s Fairy Tales, edited by Craig Yoe
  • Best Writer: Jason Aaron, Southern Bastards, Men of Wrath, Doctor Strange, Star Wars, Thor
  • Best Writer/Artist: Bill Griffith, Invisible Ink: My Mother’s Secret Love Affair with a Famous Cartoonist
  • Best Penciller/Inker or Penciller/Inker Team: Cliff Chiang, Paper Girls
  • Best Painter/Multimedia Artist: Dustin Nguyen, Descender
  • Best Cover Artist: David Aja, Hawkeye, Karnak, Scarlet Witch
  • Best Coloring: Jordie Bellaire, The Autumnlands, Injection, Plutona, Pretty Deadly, The Surface, They’re Not Like Us, Zero, The X-Files, The Massive, Magneto, Vision
  • Best Lettering: Derf Backderf, Trashed
  • Best Comics-Related Periodical/Journalism: : Hogan’s Alley, edited by Tom Heintjes
  • Best Comics-Related Book: : Harvey Kurtzman: The Man Who Created Mad and Revolutionized Humor in America, by Bill Schelly
  • Best Academic/Scholarly Work: The Blacker the Ink: Constructions of Black Identity in Comics and Sequential Art, edited by Frances Gateward and John Jennings
  • Best Publication Design: Sandman Gallery Edition, designed by Graphitti Designs and Josh Beatman/Brainchild Studios
  • Hall of Fame Award: Carl Burgos, Tove Jansson, Lynda Barry, Rube Goldberg, Jacques Tardi, Matt Groening
  • Bill Finger Award for Excellence in Comic Book Writing: Elliot S! Maggin, Richard E. Hughes
  • Bob Clampett Humanitarian Award: The Oatmeal’s Matthew Inman
  • Will Eisner Spirit of Comics Retailer Award: Orbital Comics & Gallery, Karl Asaa, Damian Keeng & James Wilson, London, UK
  • Russ Manning Promising Newcomer Award: Dan Mora

For more information…

Game Writers Eligible for SFWA

SFWA has announced that game writers will be eligible for membership as of August 1, 2016. Games in any medium may be used for qualification so long as the game has a narrative element, is in English, and in the science fiction, fantasy, horror or related genres.
For more information…

Obituary: Stephanie Clarkson

Fan Stephanie Clarkson (b.1970) died on July 19. Clarkson began attending science fiction conventions in 1992 and almost immediately began helping to run them. In 2003, she was in charge of Torcon 3’s handicap access. Clarkson also used the fan name thespian.

Obituary: Garry Marshall

Director Garry Marshall(b.1934) died on July 19. Marshall is best known as the creator of Happy Days and its various spin-offs as well as the producer and director of the Princess Diaries films. His genre work includes creating the television show Mork and Mindy and doing voice work for Pinky and the Brain and Chicken Little.

Stamp Sets Out-of-This-World Record

A 1991 US Postal stamp depicting Pluto with the caption “Unexplored” has been identified by Guinness World Records as the stamp which has traveled the furthest. The stamp was placed on board the New Horizon space craft and has flown more than 5.25 billion kilometers. The stamp continues to accrue mileage as it continues on its journey to 2014 MU69, 1.6 billion kilometers beyond Pluto.
For more information…

“Muppets” Take Ankh-Morpork

The Jim Henson Company has announced they are developing a film based on Sir Terry Pratchetts Wee Free Men, with a script to be written by Pratchett’s daughter, Rhianna Pratchett. The project is a collaboration between the Jim Henson Company and Narrativia, a company set up to promote Pratchett’s works. Rhianna Pratchett and Sir Terry’s assistant, Rob Wilkins, will serve as Executive Producers on the project.
For more information…

Obituary: Robert E. Yeo

Fan Robert E. Yeo (b.1935) died on July 16. Yeo attended numerous conventions in the Upper Midwest, particularly Minicon. An early member of Michigan Tech’s PFRC, he began attending the PFRC (and GT) annual picnics nearly from their beginning.

Uncanny Annual Kickstarter

Lynne Thomas and Michael Damian Thomas have announced a Kickstarter to provide funding for the third year of their on-line magazine, Uncanny: A Magazine of Science Fiction & Fantasy. Uncanny publishes as an eBook on a bimonthly schedule. Each issue contains at least 4-6 new short stories, 2 reprinted stories, 2 poems, 2 nonfiction essays, and 2 interviews. The Kickstarter started on July 18 and will run through August 16.
For more information…

Science Fiction and Technoculture Studies Book Prize

The University of California-Riverside has announced the winner of the Science Fiction and Technoculture Studies Book Prize for 2015. The award honors an outstanding scholarly monograph that explores the intersections between popular culture, particularly science fiction, and the discourses and cultures of technoscience. This year’s winner is Mondo Nano: Fun and Games in the World of Digital Matter, by Colin Milburn.
For more information…