Obituary: Gene Wilder

Actor Gene Wilder (b.Jerome Silberman, 1933) died on August 29. Wilder portrayed Dr. Frankenstein in Mel Brooks’s comedy Young Frankenstein as well as the fox in The Little Prince and the title role in Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory. Non-genre roles included the Mel Brooks comedies The Producers and Blazing Saddles as well as the title role in The Adventure of Sherlock Holmes’ Smarter Brother. He was nominated for the Academy Award for his role in The Producers and his screenplay for Young Frankenstein. Wilder shared a Hugo and Nebula Award with Mel Brooks for Young Frankenstein as well.

Obituary Michael Leader

Actor Michael Leader (b.1937) died on August 22. Leader is best known for his role on The Eastenders, but he has also appeared in several episodes of Doctor Who, Blake’s 7, and Red Dwarf. Leader also had an uncredited role in Star Wars, playing a stormtrooper who accidentally bumped his head on a doorway.

Obituary: Marvin Kaplan

Actor Marvin Kaplan (b.1927) died on August 25. Perhaps best known for his role on Alice and in the film It’s a Mad, Mad, Mad, Mad World, he also appeared in The Lost Saucer, I Dream of Jeannie, The Came from Outer Space, and the original versions of Freaky Friday and Angels in the Outfield.

Obituary: Robert C. Peterson

Fan Robert C. Peterson (b.1921) died on August 15. Peterson was an early fan of science fiction. He edited 1960’s Science Fictional Sherlock Holmes. In 1994, he was elected to the First Fandom Hall of Fame, and in 2008 he received the Sam Moskowitz Archive Award in recognition of his SF collection.

SMOFCon Scholarships Available

CanSMOF has announced a call for applicants for this year’s scholarships to SMOFCon 34, to be held in Rosemont, IL, December 2-4, 2016. Three scholarships are being made available, one scholarship is available to a Canadian citizen interested in learning more about con-running, one is for a non-North American fan, with the third scholarship available to any fan. The deadline for applications is September 18, 2016.
For more information…

Nommo Awards Created

The African Speculative Fiction Society has announced the creation of the Nommo Awards, to be presented for African Speculative Fiction. The awards, which currently have four years worth of funding thanks to Tom Ilube, will launch at this year’s Ake Festival in November, with the first awards, for best novel, best novella, best short story, and best graphic novels presented in 2017. The award is pan-African and is open to authors and artists with African citizenship, or who grew up in Africa or who live abroad and have at least one African parent.

For more information…

Clarke Award Winner

The winner of the Arthur C. Clarke Award was announced on August 24. This year, the award included a prize of £2016. The winner is Adrian Tchaikovsky for the novel Children of Time. The administrators also announced that next year’s awards would be open to self-published and e-books.

For more information…

Earthlike Planet Discovered

Astronomers have discovered an earth-like planet in orbit around Proxima Centauri. The planet is believed to have a mass of at least 1.3 times the earth and orbits only 7.3 million kilometers from the star (compared to 150 km for Earth), but because Proxima Centauri is smaller than Sol, the planet receives 2/3 the light and heat does, placing the planet in the goldilocks zone. Proxima Centauri is the closest star to the Solar system, only 4.2 light years away.
For more information…

Sturgeon and Campbell Winners

The winners of the Campbell and Sturgeon Awards were announced on August 18 at the Campbell Conference, held this year in conjunction with MidAmeriCon II, the worldcon, in Kansas City, Mo. Both are juried awards, with the Campbell being presented for the Best SF Novel and the Sturgeon for Best Short Story. Next year, the Campbell Conference will be held in Lawrence, Kansas during its more traditional month of June.

  • John W. Campbell Award: Radiomen, by Eleanor Lerman
  • Theodore Sturgeon Award: “The Game of Smash and Recovery,” by Kelly Link

For more information…

edited to correct Sturgeon winner title.

Big Heart Award

Edie Stern and Joe Siclari received the Big Heart Award during the Hugo ceremony at MidAmeriCon II on August 20. Siclari and Stern have worked to preserve fannish history and help make it more accessible. The award was presented by Sue Francis.