Retro Hugo Award Winners

The Retro Hugos were announced on August 18 at MidAmeriCon II in Kansas City, followed by a 1930s themed dance. The Retro Hugos are given out 50, 75, or 100 years after a Worldcon in which the Hugos were not previously awarded.

  • Best Novel: Slan, by A.E. Van Vogt
  • Best Novella: “If This Goes On…,” by Robert A. Heinlein
  • Best Novelette: “The Roads Must Roll,” by Robert A. Heinlein
  • Best Short Story: “Robbie,” by Isaac Asimov
  • Best Graphic Story: Batman #1
  • Best Dramatic Presentation (Long Form): Fantasia
  • Best Dramatic Presentation (Short Form): Pinocchio
  • Best Editor – Short Form: John W. Campbell
  • Best Professional Artist: Virgil Finlay
  • Best Fanzine: Futuria Fantasia, by Ray Bradbury
  • Best Fan Writer: Ray Bradbury