Auburn (CA) Hosts SF Film Festival

The city of Auburn, CA will be hosting an inaugural film festival the weekend of January 20-22, kicking off with Duck Dodgers In the 24 1/2th Century and also showing Brazil, The Iron Giant, and Forbidden Planet, among others. The Festival will take place at the Auburn Placer Performing Arts Center and organizers hope it will be the first in an annual series.
For more information…

Fantastic Stories of the Imagination Closing

Warren Lapine has announced that Fantastic Stories of the Imagination will be closing following the publication of its January issue and its People of Color Take Over issue. Subscriptions will be filled with e-copies of F&SF and The Cascadia Subduction Zone. Lapine will remain active in genre publishing through his Positronic imprint of Wilder Publications.
For more information… Closing

Jeffry Dwight has announced that will be closing on March 31. For many years, hosted SFWA’s dsicussion boards as well as providing server space, e-mail addresses, and personal pages for many science fiction authors. Dwight received a Service to SFWA Award for’s contributions in 2015. Dwight has stated that he will be able to forward e-mails from to other e-mail addresses, but websites will have to be ported to other hosts by their owners.

For more information…

WSFS YA Award Naming Survey

The Worldcon’s YA Award Committee has announced six names selected as potential names for a YA Award to be given out by the World Science fiction Society. These names were selected from 460 unique names and 1,138 responses to the original survey. They are asking fans to fill out a questionnaire indicating level of appropriateness of each name. The final decision will be based on the questionnaire responses, a panel of YA authors, and consultation from a group of cultural sensitivity experts.

  • Anansi
  • Lodestar
  • Ouroboros
  • Spellcaster
  • Tesseract
  • Worldcon

For more information…

Obituary: Annemarie van Ewijck

Dutch fan Annemarie van Ewijck (b.1943) died on January 15. van Ewijck ran handicapped services at ConFiction, the 1990 Worldcon, and was a driving force behind NCSF, a Dutch SF club, for which she edited the clubzine, Holland SF. In addition, van Ewijck was an active translator under the names Annemarie van Ewijck and Annemarie Kindt. She was nominated for the King Kong Award for horror translation in 1977.

New Zenith Closes

New Zenith magazine has announced that it has closed and has cancelled publication of its Winter and Spring issues. New Zenith launched as a magzine for short fiction of all genres with their Summer 2016 issue and put out a Fall issue before making the announcement. Both issues appeared in print and e-zine.
For more information…

Science Fiction Hall of Fame Inductees

To celebrate the twentieth year of the Science Fiction and Fantasy Hall of Fame, this year will see 24 members inducted, including 15 creators and 9 properties. Some of the inductees were selected by popular vote last year, while other inductees were selected by the panel of jurors. The Hall of Fame is currently hosted by The Museum of Pop Culture (MOPOP), formerly the Experience Music Project and Science Fiction Museum. Inductees are listed below and will be celebrated on March 4.


  • Douglas Adams
  • Margaret Atwood
  • Keith David
  • Guillermo del Toro
  • Terry Gilliam
  • Jim Henson
  • Jack Kirby
  • Madeleine L’Engle
  • C.S. Lewis
  • H.P. Lovecraft
  • Leonard Nimoy
  • George Orwell
  • Sir Terry Pratchett
  • Rumiko Takahashi
  • John Williams


  • 2001: A Space Odyssey
  • Blade Runner
  • Dungeons and Dragons
  • The Matrix
  • Myst
  • The Princess Bride
  • Star Trek
  • Wonder Woman
  • The X-Files

For more information…

Weir Creates Pilot

Andy Weir, the author of The Martian has announced that he has created a pilot for CBS called Mission Control. The show will be set at NASA and will focus on the flight controllers in Houston and the astronauts on a space station.

For more information…

Obtuary: Eugene Cernan

Astronaut Eugene Cernan (b.1934) died on January 16. Cernan was known as the last man on the moon since he was the Commander of Apollo 17 and re-entered the Lunar Module after Harrison Schmitt. His first flight into space was on Gemini 9A, in which he flew with Tom Stafford. He also flew on Apollo 10, piloting the Lunar Module to within 15.6 km of the lunar surface. Cernan retired from NASA and the Navy in 1976 and published his memoirs, Last Man on the Moon in 1999. His book was turned into a documentary in 2016. With Cernan’s death 6 of the 12 Moonwalkers have died.

Prometheus Hall of Fame Nominees

This year’s nominees for the Prometheus Hall of Fame Award have been announced. The awards are presented by the Libertarian Futurist Society and winners will be announced later in the year, along with the Prometheus Awards, at a major science fiction convention.

Hall of Fame

  • “As Easy as A.B.C.,” by Rudyard Kipling
  • “Conquest by Default,” by Vernor Vinge
  • “Coventry,” by Robert A. Heinlein
  • “Harrison Bergeron,” by Kurt Vonnegut
  • “Starfog,” by Poul Anderson
  • “With Folded Hands…,” by Jack Williamson

For more information…