Nebula Award Nominees

Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America (SFWA) has announced the nominees for this year’s Nebula Awards, Norton Award, and Bradbury Award. All of the awards will be presented at the annual Nebula Award Banquet in Pittsburgh, PA on May 20. All SFWA Active members may vote for the Nebulas from March 1 through March 31. This year’s SFWA Nebula Conference will take place at Pittsburgh’s Marriott Marquis from May 18-21.


  • All the Birds in the Sky, by Charlie Jane Anders
  • Borderline, by Mishell Baker
  • The Obelisk Gate, by N.K. Jemisin
  • Ninefox Gambit, by Yoon Ha Lee
  • Everfair, by Nisi Shawl


  • Runtime, by S.B. Divya
  • The Dream-Quest of Vellitt Boe, by Kij Johnson
  • The Ballad of Black Tom, by Victor LaValle
  • Every Heart a Doorway, by Seanan McGuire
  • “The Liar,” by John P. Murphy
  • A Taste of Honey, by Kai Ashante Wilson


  • “The Long Fall Up,” by William Ledbetter
  • “Sooner or Later Everything Falls Into the Sea,” by Sarah Pinsker
  • “Red in Tooth and Cog,” by Cat Rambo*
  • “Blood Grains Speak Through Memories,” by Jason Sanford
  • “The Orangery,” by Bonnie Jo Stufflebeam
  • The Jewel and Her Lapidary, by Fran Wilde
  • “You’ll Surely Drown Here If You Stay,” by Alyssa Wong

Short Story

  • “Our Talons Can Crush Galaxies,” by Brooke Bolander
  • “Seasons of Glass and Iron,” by Amal El-Mohtar
  • “Sabbath Wine,” by Barbara Krasnoff
  • “Things With Beards,” by Sam J. Miller
  • “This Is Not a Wardrobe Door,” by A. Merc Rustad
  • “A Fist of Permutations in Lightning and Wildflowers,” by Alyssa Wong
  • “Welcome to the Medical Clinic at the Interplanetary Relay Station│Hours Since the Last Patient Death: 0,” Caroline M. Yoachim

Ray Bradbury Award for Outstanding Dramatic Presentation

  • Arrival, Directed by Denis Villeneuve, Screenplay by Eric Heisserer
  • Doctor Strange, Directed by Scott Derrickson, Screenplay by Scott Derrickson & C. Robert Cargill
  • Kubo and the Two Strings, Directed by Travis Knight, Screenplay by Mark Haimes & Chris Butler
  • Rogue One: A Star Wars Story, Directed by Gareth Edwards, Written by Chris Weitz & Tony Gilroy
  • “The Bicameral Mind,” Westworld, Directed by Jonathan Nolan, Written by Lisa Joy & Jonathan Nolan
  • Zootopia, Directed by Byron Howard, Rich Moore, & Jared Bush, Screenplay by Jared Bush & Phil Johnston

Andre Norton Award for Young Adult Science Fiction and Fantasy

  • The Girl Who Drank the Moon, by Kelly Barnhill
  • The Star-Touched Queen, by Roshani Chokshi
  • The lie Tree, by Frances Hardinge
  • Arabella of Mars, by David D. Levine
  • Rainhead, by Philip Reeve
  • Rocks Fall, Everyone Dies, by Lindsay Ribar
  • The Evil Wizard Smallbone, by Delia Sherman

For more information…
To attend the SFWA Nebula Conference…

*After the original announcement, it was determined that Cat Rambo’s story had been edited to fall below the length for Novelette. Her story has been dropped from the ballot and replaced.