Fiscus to Receive Service to SFWA Award

SFWA has announced that Jim Fiscus will receive this year’s Kevin O’Donnell, Jr. Service to SFWA Award at the SFWA Nebula Conference in Pittsburgh, held the weekend of May 18-21. Fiscus served as the SFWA Liaison to Westercon in 1990, hosting an Oregon White tasting. In the mid-90s, he began writing a column on the business and legal aspects of the publishing industry for the SFWA Bulletin. He oversaw of a review of the SFWA handbook in 2002 and served as Western Regional Director from 2008 until 2015 when the position was abolished. He is currently the chair of the contracts committee. Fiscus will be recognized at the Nebula Award Ceremony on May 20.
For more information…

Baen Memorial Winners

The winner of the 2017 Jim Baen Memorial Short Story Award, sponsored by Baen Books and the National Space Society, have been announced. The contest looks for stories which explore the promise of space exploration. The winner will be published as the featured story on the Baen Books main website and paid at the normal paying rates for professional stories and receive an award, membership to the 2017 International Space Development Conference, a year’s membership in the National Space Society, and a prize package containing various Baen Books and National Space Society merchandise.

  • Grand Prize: “Feldspar,” by Philip A. Kramer
  • 2nd Place: “Bullet Catch,” by Stephen Lawson
  • 3rd Place: “An Economy of Air,” by M. T. Reiten

For more information…

Obituary: Jack H. Harris

Producer Jack H. Harris (b.1918) died on March 14. Harris produced the 1958 film The Blob as well as its 1972 sequel Beware! The Blob and its 1988 remake. Other films he produced included Dinosaurus!, Dark Star, and Eyes of Laura Marsh. He had uncredited cameos in many of the films he produced.

Obituary: Lawrence Montaigne

Actor Lawrence Montaigne (b.1931) died on March 17. Montaigne portrayed a Romulan and a Vulcan in episodes of Star Trek, including “Amok Time.” Other genre appearances included the television shows The Time Tunnel, Batman, The Invaders, and The Outer Limits. He also appeared in Escape to Witch Mountain and The Power.

Obituary: Bernie Wrightson

Comic book artist Bernie Wrightson (b.1948) died on March 18 after a lengthy battle with brain cancer. He began working as an illustrator for the Baltimore Sun in 1966 and the following year decided to go into comics after meeting Frank Frazetta. In 1968, he began doing freelance work for DC Comics. In 1971, Wrightson co-created Swamp Thing with Len Wein. He drew illustrations for Mary Shelley’s Frankenstein and more recently did the production design for the Reavers in the film Serenity.

Weimer Wins DUFF

Paul Weimer won DUFF (the Down Under Fan Fund) in an unopposed race. Hhe will travel to Australia to attend Lexicon, the 38th New Zealand National Science Fiction Convention, to be held in Taupō from June 2-4 and Continuum, the 56th Australian National Science Fiction Convention, to be held in Melbourne, Australia from June 9-12. 40 ballots were cast with 37 giving Weimer a first place vote. 21 ballots came from North American and 19 from Australasia. Voting fees and donations came to A$203.53 and US$207.44. This is the second year in a row DUFF has been uncontested.
For more information…

Obituary: John R. Newell

Bookseller John R. Newell (b.1935) died on February 25. Newell, who went by the name Klon, ran Klon’s Interplanetary Books, a mail order book business from Athens, Georgia. In addition, he sold rare and collectible SF/fantasy/horror at science fiction and fantasy conventions throughout the south and the east.

Liu at MIT

Ken Liu will speak at MIT Reads, which has selected his collection The Paper Menagerie as their spring selection. Liu’s talk will take place on April 12 at 7:00 and will include a reading, a discussion of the stories “The Paper Menagerie” and “The Bookmaking Habits of Select Species,” a Q & A period, and an autograph session. The event is free, but registration is required.
For more information…

Spectrum Award Finalists

The jury for Spectrum 23: The Best in Contemporary Fantastic Art has announced nominees in eight categories. The list was created by judges Christian Alzmann, Laurie Lee Brom, Mark Newman, Victo Ngai and John Picacio. Winners of the Gold and Silver Awards will be announced at the Spectrum 24 Awards Ceremony, held at the Folly Theater in Kansas City, MO on Saturday, April 22. The 2017 Spectrum Grand Master Award honoree will also be announced during the ceremony.


  • Kellan Jett, “Hell” (detail)
  • Edward Kinsella III, “Carnival of Souls”
  • Bill Mayer, “Savages”
  • Greg Ruth, “Daredevil”
  • Bayard Wu, “Hunting”


  • Richard Anderson, Red Tide
  • Tommy Arnold, On the Wheel
  • Brom, Lamia
  • Edward Kinsella III, Danneee
  • Goni Montes, Tamiel


  • Arthur Adams, Guardians of the Galaxy #19 (cover)
  • Nic Klein, Drifter #13, pages 8 and 9
  • Dave McKean< Black Dog: The Dreams of Paul Nash
  • David Palumbo, Swallowed Whole
  • Jeremy Wilson, Chimera Brigade #5

Concept Art

  • Te Hu, Secret of Seda
  • Tyler Jacobson, Hill Giant Queen
  • Ronan Le Fur, Fortress Africa
  • Iain McCaig, Minion 5
  • Sean Murray, Court of the Dead: Voxxingard


  • Akihito, “Nephila”
  • Amilcar Fong, “Oglavaeil The Executioner”
  • Virginie Ropars, “Yevabog”
  • Dug Stanat, “The Corruption of Father O’Malley”
  • Jesse Thompson, “Dress-Up Frog Legs”


  • Clint Cearley, “Broken Concentration”
  • Galen Dara, “Seven Salt Tears”
  • Tran Nguyen, “La Beaute Sans Vertu”
  • Tim O’Brien, Beyonce “Lemonade”
  • Armando Veve, “War Music”


  • Ed Binkley, “William Finds Some Flowers and a Giant”
  • Wesley Burt, “Accursed Witch”
  • Bill Carman, “Ms. Hatter and a Smile”
  • Travis Louie, “Mojo Jojo Circa 1897”
  • Stephan Martiniere, “Tie Fighter Down”


  • J.A.W. Cooper, “Stealth”
  • Diego Fernandez, “375”
  • Jeffrey Alan Love, “Orange Skies”
  • Karla Ortiz, “The Death I Bring”
  • Greg Ruth, “Lagoon”

For more information…

Baen Memorial Short Story Award Finalists

Baen Books has announced the finalists for the annual Baen Memorial Short Story Award. The contest looks for stories which capture the lure of space in a realistic manner. The Grand Prize will be presented at the 2017 International Space Development Conference in St. Louis, MO the weekend of May 25-29.

  • Stewart C Baker
  • S.B. Divya
  • Susan Forest
  • C Stuart Hardwick
  • Bart Kemper
  • Philip A. Kramer
  • Harry Lang
  • Stephen Lawson
  • Angus McIntyre
  • M. T. Reiten