Nommo Nominations

The African Speculative Fiction Society (ASFS) has announced the nominees for the inaugural Nommo Awards. The nominees are speculative fiction published in 2015 or 2016, and are considered to be by Africans as defined by the ASFS and Nommo Awards Guidelines. The winners will be honored at the Aké Festival, in November 2017 in Nigeria. A prize of $3,000 will be shared among the winners of four categories: best novel ($1,000), best novella ($500), best short story ($500), and best graphic novel ($1,000).

Best Novel

  • Blackass, by A. Igoni Barrett
  • Azotus, the Kingdom, by Shadreck Chikoti
  • Taty Went West, by Nikhil Singh
  • Rosewater, by Tade Thompson
  • Azanian Bridges, by Nick Wood

Best Novella

  • “Hell Freezes Over,” by Mame Bougouma Diene
  • “The Flying Man of Stone,” by Dilman Dila
  • Ta O’Reva, by Muthi Nhlema
  • Binti, by Nnedi Okorafor
  • “The Last Pantheon,” by Tade Thompson & Nick Wood

Best Short Story

  • “Who Will Greet You at Home,” by Lesley Nneka Arimah
  • “The Marriage Plot,” by Tendai Huchu
  • “Sundown,” by Acan Innocent Immaculate
  • “Ndakusuwa,” by Blaize M. Kaye
  • “Wednesday’s Story,” by Wole Talabi

Best Graphic Novel

  • Chronic #3: “The Corpse Exhibition,” edited by Ntone Edjabe
  • June XII, by Ibrahim Ganiyu & Stanley Obende
  • Avonome, by Xavier Ighorodje & Stanley Obende
  • Might of Guardian Prime, by Jide Martin & Toheeb Deer Ipaye

For more information…