Aurealis Winners

The 2016 Aurealis Awards winners were announced on April 14 in Perth, Australia. The Aurealis Awards are given out annual for excellence in Australian speculative fiction.

  • Best Children’s Fiction: When the Lyrebird Calls, by Kim Kane
  • Best Graphic Novel/Illustrated Work: Negative Space, by Ryan K Lindsay
  • Best Young Adult Short Story: “Pretty Jennie Greenteeth,” by Leife Shallcross
  • Best Horror Short Story: “Flame Trees,” by TR Napper
  • Best Horror Novella: “Burnt Sugar,” by Kirstyn McDermott
  • Best Fantasy Short Story: “Where the Pelican Builds Her Nest,” by Thoraiya Dyer
  • Best Fantasy Novella: “Forfeit,” by Andrea K Höst
  • Best Science Fiction Short Story: “Of Sight, of Mind, of Heart,” Samantha Murray
  • Best Science Fiction Novella: “Salto Mortal,” by Nick T Chan
  • Best Collection: A Feast of Sorrows, by Angela Slatter
  • Best Anthology: Year’s Best YA Speculative Fiction 2015, edited by Julia Rios and Alisa Krasnostein
  • Best Young Adult Novel: Lady Helen and the Dark Days Pact, by Alison Goodman
  • Best Horror Novel: The Grief Hole, by Kaaron Warren
  • Best Fantasy Novel: Nevernight, by Jay Kristoff
  • Best Science Fiction Novel: Gemina: Illuminae Files 2, by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff
  • Convenor’s Award: The Rebirth of Rapunzel: A Mythic Biography of the Maiden in the Tower, by Kate Forsyth

For more information…