Shirley Jackson Nominees

The Shirley Jackson Awards were established to recognize outstanding achievement in the literature of psychological suspense, horror, and the dark fantastic. The winners will be announced on July 16 at Readercon 28 in Quincy, Massachusetts.


  • The Girls, by Emma Cline
  • The Wonder, by Emma Donoghue
  • Lily, by Michael Thomas Ford
  • Mongrels, by Stephen Graham Jones
  • I’m Thinking of Ending Things, by Iain Reid
  • Foxlowe, by Eleanor Wasserberg


  • “Maggots,” by Nina Allan
  • The Sadist’s Bible, by Nicole Cushing
  • The Warren, by Brian Evenson
  • The Dream-Quest of Vellitt Boe, by Kij Johnson
  • The Ballad of Black Tom, by Victor LaValle
  • Muscadines, by S.P. Miskowski


  • “Andy Kaufman Creeping Through the Trees,” by Laird Barron
  • “Breaking Water,” by Indrapramit Das
  • “Waxy,” by Camilla Grudova
  • “The Night Cyclist,” by Stephen Graham Jones
  • “Angel, Monster, Man,” by Sam J. Miller
  • “Presence,” by Helen Oyeyemi

Short Fiction

  • “The Apartments,” by Karen Heuler
  • “Red,” by Katie Knoll
  • “Postcards from Natalie,” by Carrie Laben
  • “Things With Beards,” by Sam J. Miller
  • “Animal Parts,” by Irenosen Okojie

Single-Author Collection

  • We Show What We Have Learned, by Clare Beams
  • A Natural History of Hell, by Jeffrey Ford
  • Furnace, by Livia Llewellyn
  • Almost Insentient, by Almost Divine, D.P. Watt
  • Greener Pastures, by Michael Wehunt

Edited Anthology

  • An Unreliable Guide to London, edited by Kit Caless & Gary Budden
  • Autumn Cthulhu, edited by Mike Davis
  • The Madness of Dr. Caligari, edited by Joseph S. Pulver, Sr.
  • Those Who Make Us: Canadian Creature, Myth, and Monster Stories, edited by Kelsi Morris & Kaitlin Tremblay
  • The Starlit Wood, edited by Dominik Parisien & Navah Wolfe

For more information…