Ditmar Awards

The winners of the Ditmar Awards were announced on June 11 at Continuum, the Australian National SF Convention, held in Melbourne.

  • Best Novel: The Grief Hole, by Kaaron Warren
  • Best Novella or Novelette: “Did We Break the End of the World?” by Tansy Rayner Roberts
  • Best Short Story: “No Fat Chicks,” by Cat Sparks;
  • Best Collected Work: (tie) Defying Doomsday, edited by Tsana Dolichva and Holly Kench; Dreaming in the Dark, by Jack Dann
  • Best Artwork: illustration by Shauna O’Meara, for Lackington’s 12.
  • Best Fan Publication in Any Medium: 2016 Australian SF Snapshot, by Greg Chapman, Tehani Croft, Tsana Dolichva, Marisol Dunham, Elizabeth Fitzgerald, Stephanie Gunn, Ju Landéesse, David McDonald, Belle McQuattie, Matthew Morrison, Alex Pierce, Rivqa Rafael, Tansy Rayner Roberts, Helen Stubbs, Katharine Stubbs and Matthew Summers.
  • Best Fan Writer: Foz Meadows, for body of work.
  • Best Fan Artist: No Award (Kathleen Jennings, the only nominee, withdrew)
  • Best New Talent: Marlee Jane Ward
  • William Atheling Jr Award for Criticism or Review: Kate Forsyth, for The Rebirth of Rapunzel: A Mythic Biography of the Maiden in the Tower
  • A. Bertram Chandler Award: Bill Wright, who has been in fandom for 59 years
  • Peter McNamara Achievement Award: Rose Mitchell

For more information…