Bill Finger Award Winners

Bill Messner-Loebs and Jack Kirby will receive this year’s Bill Finger Award, presented at Comic Con International to recognize unsung writers in the comics field. Each year, the award is given to one living and one dead writer. Messner-Loebs has worked as a cartoonist and writer since the 1970s, working on Superman, Flash, Aquaman, Hawkman, Green Arrow, Wonder Woman, Dr. Fate, Jonny Quest, Spider-Man, Thor, and more. Kirby (1917-1994) created or co-created several of the most recognizable comic heroes, including Captain America, the Hulk, Thor, the Silver Surfer, and more. During the 1960s, he worked on every major Marvel title.