Kurd-Laßwitz-Preis Winners

The winners for this year’s Kurd Laßwitz award for science fiction published in Germany have been announced.

  • Best German Science-Fiction Novel: Omni, by Andreas Brandhorst
  • Best German Short Story: “Suicide Rooms,” by Gabriele Behrend
  • Best Foreign Science-Fiction Book: Die drei Sonnen (The Three-Body Problem), by Cixin Liu
  • Best Science-Fiction Translation: Martina Hasse, for Cixin Liu’s Die drei Sonnen
  • Best Cover Art or Illustration: Greg Ruth, for Nnedi Okorafor:’s Lagune
  • Best German Audio Play: No Award
  • Special Award for Extraordinary Achievements (One time): Ralf Boldt, Sylvana Fryberg and the team of the MediKonOne for organizing the MediKonOne and the innovation of doing a crossover of medicine and science-fiction
  • Special Award for Extraordinary Achievements (Over years): Herbert W. Franke for his lifetime achievement

For more information… (in German)

BWAWA Bids for 2021

BWAWA, the Baltimore-Washington Area Worldcon Association, announced plans to bid to host the 2021 Worldcon in Washington, D.C. In their statement, BWAWA expressed sadness that MCFI had closed their bid and noted that BWAWA had already been planning to bid for the Worldcon later in the decade. They have elected to move their bid to the now vacant 2021 year. Bill Lawhorn will be chairing the 2021 Bid. The expect to roll out a website in the near future.

No MCFI in 2021 Worldcon Bid

MCFI, Massachusetts Convention Fandom, Inc., has announced that they will no longer be running a bid to host the 2021 Worldcon in Boston. According to their statement, the committee was unable to locate affordable, workable space for the convention.

Ditmar Awards

The winners of the Ditmar Awards were announced on June 11 at Continuum, the Australian National SF Convention, held in Melbourne.

  • Best Novel: The Grief Hole, by Kaaron Warren
  • Best Novella or Novelette: “Did We Break the End of the World?” by Tansy Rayner Roberts
  • Best Short Story: “No Fat Chicks,” by Cat Sparks;
  • Best Collected Work: (tie) Defying Doomsday, edited by Tsana Dolichva and Holly Kench; Dreaming in the Dark, by Jack Dann
  • Best Artwork: illustration by Shauna O’Meara, for Lackington’s 12.
  • Best Fan Publication in Any Medium: 2016 Australian SF Snapshot, by Greg Chapman, Tehani Croft, Tsana Dolichva, Marisol Dunham, Elizabeth Fitzgerald, Stephanie Gunn, Ju Landéesse, David McDonald, Belle McQuattie, Matthew Morrison, Alex Pierce, Rivqa Rafael, Tansy Rayner Roberts, Helen Stubbs, Katharine Stubbs and Matthew Summers.
  • Best Fan Writer: Foz Meadows, for body of work.
  • Best Fan Artist: No Award (Kathleen Jennings, the only nominee, withdrew)
  • Best New Talent: Marlee Jane Ward
  • William Atheling Jr Award for Criticism or Review: Kate Forsyth, for The Rebirth of Rapunzel: A Mythic Biography of the Maiden in the Tower
  • A. Bertram Chandler Award: Bill Wright, who has been in fandom for 59 years
  • Peter McNamara Achievement Award: Rose Mitchell

For more information…

Obituary: Adam West

Actor Adam West (b.William West Anderson, 1928) died on June 9. West is best known for his role as Bruce Wayne and Batman in the 1966 television series Batman and the associated theatrical film. He provided voicework for several animated works, including Meet the Robinsons, Kim Possible, and various versions of Batman. He also made cameo appearances on the 1990 series The Flash and Lois and Clark. He and Burt Ward shared TV Land Awards in 2004 and 2005 for the work on Batman.

Mythopoeic Award Nominees

The nominees for the Mythopoeic Awards have been announced. In addition to fiction awards for adult and children’s literature, the awards also recognize scholarship in fantasy literature and Inkling studies. The winners of this year’s awards will be announced during Mythcon 48, during the weekend of July 28-31, in Champaign-Urbana, Illinois.

Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Adult Literature

  • Will Do Magic For Small Change, by Andrea Hairston
  • Ghost Talkers, by Mary Robinette Kowal
  • Kingfisher, by Patricia A. McKillip
  • The Raven Cycle: The Raven Boys; The Dream Thieves; Blue Lily, Lily Blue; and The Raven King, by Maggie Stiefvater
  • Thessaly Trilogy: The Just City; The Philosopher Kings; Necessity, by Jo Walton

Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Children’s Literature

  • The Inquisitor’s Tale: Or, The Three Magical Children and their Holy Dog, by Adam Gidwitz
  • The Mapmakers Trilogy: The Class Sentence; The Golden Specific; The Crimson Skew, by S. E. Grove
  • The Rat Prince, by Bridget Hodder
  • When the Sea Turned to Silver, by Grace Lin
  • The Evil Wizard Smallbone, by Delia Sherman

Mythopoeic Scholarship Award in Inklings Studies

  • Tolkien’s Theology of Beauty: Majesty, Splendor, and Transcendence in Middle Earth, by Lisa Coutras
  • The Chapel of the Thorn by Charles Williams, edited by Sørina Higgins
  • Approaches to Teaching Tolkien’s The Lord of the Rings and Other Works, edited by Leslie Donovan
  • Beowulf: A Translation and Commentary, together with Sellic Spell by J.R.R. Tolkien, edited by Christopher Tolkien
  • The Fellowship: The Literary Lives of J.R.R. Tolkien, C.S. Lewis, Owen Barfield, Charles Williams, by Philip Zaleski and Carol Zaleski

Mythopoeic Scholarship Award in Myth and Fantasy Studies

  • Otherworlds: Fantasy and History in Medieval Literature, by Aisling Byrne
  • Elf Queens and Holy Friars: Fairy Beliefs and the Medieval Church, by Richard Firth Green
  • Children’s Fantasy Literature: An Introduction, by Michael Levy and Farah Mendlesohn
  • The Tropes of Fantasy Fiction, by Gabrielle Lissauer
  • Grimm Legacies: The Magic Spell of the Grimms’ Folk and Fairy Tales, by Jack Zipes

For more information…

Baileys Prize

Naomi Alderman has won the Baileys Prize for Women’s Fiction for her novel The Power. This is the first time an SF work has won the award. The Baileys Prize includes a cash award of £30,000. The Baileys Prize was founded in 1996 and honors excellence, originality, and accessibility in writing by women around the world.
For more information…

Diana Jones Nominees

The Diana Jones committee has announced the shortlist for its 2017 award for Excellence in Gaming, to be presented in Indianapolis on August 16, 2016. The Diana Jones Award has been presented annually since 2001. It takes its name from a destroyed copy of the Indiana Jones Role Playing Game.

  • The Beast, a card game by Aleksandra Sontowska and Kamil Węgrzynowicz
  • End of the Line, a LARP by Bjarke Pedersen, Juhana Pettersson, and Martin Elricsson
  • Gen Con, a games convention
  • Gloomhaven, a board game by Isaac Chidress
  • The Romance Trilogy, RPGs by Emily Care Boss
  • Terraforming Mars, a board game by Jacob Fryxelius

For more information…

Obituary: Bob Beese

Chicago fan Bob Beese (b.1943) died on June 2 from an aortic aneurysm. Beese was active in Illinois fandom, regularly attending Windycon and Chambanacon, and often helped concoms behind the scene. He negotiated several Windycon hotel contracts and on at least one occasion, the hotel representative pleaded with the con not to include Beese in the negotiations. He was married with author P.J. Beese.

Joan Aiken Future Classics Prize

Joan Aiken’s estate and the A.M. Heath Literary Agency have announced the creation of the Joan Aiken Future Classics Prize. The competition is open for works of middle-grade fiction and will be judged by Lizza Aiken and agent Julia Churchill. The winner will receive £1,000 and a set of Aiken’s The Wolves Chronicles. All entries must be received by July 31. The winner will be announced on September 14.
For more information…