World Fantasy Nominations

The ballot for this year’s World Fantasy Award has been announced. The winners will be announced at a banquet at the World Fantasy Con held in San Antonio, TX the weekend of November 2-5, 2017.


  • Borderline, by Mishell Baker
  • Roadsouls, by Betsy James
  • The Obelisk Gate, by N. K. Jemisin
  • The Sudden Appearance of Hope, by Claire North
  • Lovecraft Country, by Matt Ruff

Long Fiction

  • The Dream-Quest of Vellitt Boe, by Kij Johnson
  • Ballad of Black Tom, by Victor LaValle
  • “Every Heart a Doorway,” by Seanan McGuire
  • “Bloodybones,” by Paul F. Olson
  • “A Taste of Honey,” by Kai Ashante Wilson

Short Fiction

  • “Das Steingeschöpf,” by G. V. Anderson
  • “Our Talons Can Crush Galaxies,” by Broke Bolander
  • “Season of Glass and Iron,” by Amal El-Mohtar
  • “Little Widow,” by Maria Dahvana Headley
  • “The Fall Shall Further the Flight in Me,” by Rachael K. Jones


  • Clockwork Phoenix 5,, edited by Mike Allen
  • Dreaming in the Dark, edited by Jack Dann
  • Children of Lovecraft, edited by Ellen Datlow
  • Best American Science Fiction and Fantasy, edited by Karen Joy Fowler and John Joseph Adams
  • The Starlit Wood: New Fairy Tales, edited by Dominik Parisien and Navah Wolfe


  • Sharp Ends, by Joe Abercrombie
  • On the Eyeball Floor and Other Stories, by Tina Connolly
  • A Natural History of Hell, by Jeffrey Ford
  • Vaculi Magia, by L. S. Johnson
  • The Paper Menagerie and Other Stories, by Ken Liu


  • Greg Bridges
  • Julie Dillon
  • Paul Lewin
  • Jeffrey Alan Love
  • Victo Ngai

Special Award, Professional

  • L. Timmel Duchamp for Aqueduct Press
  • C. C. Finlay for editing F&SF
  • Michael Levy and Farah Mendlesohn for Children’s Fantasy Literature: An Introduction
  • Kelly Link, for contributions to the genre
  • Joe Monti, for contributions to the genre

Special Award, Nonprofessional

  • Scott H. Andrews, for Beneath Ceaseless Skies
  • Neile Graham, for her work as Workshop Director of Clarion West
  • John O’Neill, for Black Gate
  • Malcoln R. Phifer and Michael C. Phifer, for The Fantasy Illustration Library, Volume Two: Gods & Goddesses
  • Lynne M. Thomas & Michael Damian Thomas, for Uncanny
  • Brian White for Fireside Fiction Company

Lifetime Achievement

  • Terry Brooks
  • Marina Warner

For more information…