Obituary: George A. Romero

Producer George A. Romero (b.1940) died on July 16. Romero wrote and directed Night of the Living Dead in 1968 and made several sequels, including Dawn of the Dead, Day of the Dead, and others, defining the concept of zombies for a generation and making an indelible mark on horror films.

Manly Wade Wellman Award

The North Carolina Speculative Fiction Foundation announced the winner of the fourth Manly Wade Wellman Award at ConGregate on July 15. The award recognizes outstanding works of speculative fiction by North Carolina authors and is voted on by members of North Carolina SF cons. The winner is A.J. Hartley, for his novel Steeplejack.
For more information…

Rosny-Aîné Award Winners

The winners of the Rosny-Aîné Award were announced at the French National Science Fiction Convention in Grenoble, the weekend of July 13-16.

  • Novel: Métaquine, by François Rouiller
  • Short Story: “Les Anges Tièdes,” by Estelle Faye
  • Prix Cyrano: Joëlle Wintrebert

For more information…

British Fantasy Awards Shortlist

The 2017 British Fantasy Award short list has been announced. The winners of these awards will now be decided by the previously announced juries. The winners will be announced at the awards ceremony on Sunday October 1, 2017, at FantasyCon 2017 in Peterborough, England.

Best Fantasy Novel (the Robert Holdstock Award)

  • The Summer Goddess, by Joanne Hall
  • The High King’s Vengeance, by Steven Poore
  • The Tiger and the Wolf, by Adrian Tchaikovsky
  • The Silver Tide, by Jen Williams

Best Horror Novel (the August Derleth Award)

  • The Searching Dead, by Ramsey Campbell
  • The Hidden People, by Alison Littlewood
  • 13 Minutes, by Sarah Pinborough
  • Disappearance at Devil’s Rock, by Paul Tremblay

Best Novella

  • Hammers on Bone, by Cassandra Khaw
  • The Ballad of Black Tom, by Victor LaValle
  • Bodies of Water, by V.H. Leslie
  • Every Heart a Doorway, by Seanan McGuire
  • The Grieving Stones, by Gary McMahon
  • Arrival of Missives, by Aliya Whiteley

Best Short Fiction

  • “Charmed Life,” by Simon Avery
  • “White Rabbit,” by Georgina Bruce
  • “Greenteeth,” by Gary Budden
  • “Waxy,” by Camilla Grudova
  • “The Watcher,” by Sammy H.K. Smith
  • “The Women’s Song,” by Nadine West

Best Collection

  • Sharp Ends, by Joe Abercrombie
  • The Unheimlich Manoeuvre, by Tracy Fahey
  • Some Will Not Sleep, by Adam Nevill
  • A Tiding of Magpies, by Peter Sutton
  • The Parts We Play, by Stephen Volk
  • Secret Language, by Neil Williamson

Best Anthology

  • Something Remains, edited by Peter Coleborn & Pauline E. Dungate,
  • Fight Like a Girl, edited by Joanne Hall & Roz Clarke
  • Asian Monsters, edited by Margrét Helgadóttir
  • People of Colo(u)r Destroy Science Fiction, edited by Nalo Hopkinson & Kristine Ong Muslim
  • The Starlit Wood, edited by Dominik Parisien & Navah Wolfe
  • Dead Letters, edited by Conrad Williams

Best Independent Press

  • Alchemy
  • Fox Spirit
  • Grimbold
  • NewCon
  • TTA

Best Non-Fiction

  • Blood Spectrum column, by Gary Couzens
  • The Geek Feminist Revolution, by Kameron Hurley
  • Ginger Nuts of Horror, by Jim McLeod
  • This Spectacular Darkness, by Joel Lane
  • The Women of Harry Potter series, by Sarah Gailey
  • Words Are My Matter: Writings about Life and Books, 2000-2016, by Ursula K. Le Guin

Best Magazine / Periodical

  • Black Static
  • Ginger Nuts of Horror
  • Interzone
  • Uncanny Magazine

Best Artist

  • Ben Baldwin
  • Evelinn Enoksen
  • Sarah Anne Langton
  • Daniele Serra

Best Comic / Graphic Novel

  • 2000AD (progs 1963-2011), edited by Matt Smith
  • Sixpack and Dogwelder: Hard Travelin’ Heroz (#1-5), by Garth Ennis & Russ Braun
  • Skal (Chapter 3, pages 1-19), by Jennie Gyllblad
  • Patsy Walker, A.K.A. Hellcat! (#2-13), by Kate Leth & Brittney Williams
  • Monstress, Volume 1: Awakening, by Marjorie Liu & Sana Takeda
  • Saga (#33-40), by Brian K. Vaughan & Fiona Staples

Best Film/Television Production

  • Arrival
  • Series three of Black Mirror
  • Captain America: Civil War
  • Deadpool
  • High Rise

Best Newcomer (the Sydney J. Bounds Award)

  • James Bennett, for Chasing Embers
  • Daniel Godfrey, for New Pompeii
  • Erika L Satifka, for Stay Crazy
  • Phil Sloman, for Becoming David
  • Martin Owton, for Exile

For more information…

Rhysling Awards

The winners of the Rhysling Award, presented for speculative poetry by the SFPA, have been announced.

  • Long Form: “Rose Child,” by Theodora Goss
  • Short Form: “George Tecumseh Sherman’s Ghosts,” by Marge Simon

For more Information…

Shirley Jackson Winners

The Shirley Jackson Award winners were announced at Readercon on July 16. The Shirley Jackson Awards were established to recognize outstanding achievement in the literature of psychological suspense, horror, and the dark fantastic.

  • Novel: The Girls, by Emma Cline
  • Novella: The Ballad of Black Tom, by Victor LaValle
  • Novelette: “Waxy,” by Camilla Grudova
  • Short Story: “Postcards from Natalie,” by Carrie Laben
  • Collection: A Natural History of Hell, by Jeffrey Ford
  • Anthology: The Starlit Wood, edited by Dominik Parisien & Navah Wolfe
  • Board of Directors Award: Ruth Frankling for her contribution to the legacy of Shirley Jackson in recognition of her biography, Shirley Jackson: A Rather haunted Life

For more information…

Whittaker Named Doctor

The BBC has announced that Jodie Whittaker will take on the role of the Doctor from Peter Capaldi following this year’s Christmas episode of Doctor Who. Chibnell is the first woman to play the Doctor in the series’ history. She has previously appeared in the film Attack the Block and has also appeared in the television series Broadchurch.
For more information…

Prometheus Awards

The winners of the Prometheus Award, given for libertarian science fiction, have announced the winner of the Novel award. The award will be presented at Worldcon 75, this year’s worldcon, in Helsinki, the weekend of August 9-13.

  • Best Novel: The Core of the Sun, by Johanna Sinisalo
  • Hall of Fame: “Coventry,” by Robert A. Heinlein
  • Special Award: First chapter of Freefall, by Mark Stanley

For more information…

Rebel and Phoenix Awards

The Rebel Award, Phoenix Award, and the Rubble Award, all presented at ConGregate/DeepSouthCon 55 in High Point, North Carolina. The Rebel and Phoenix Awards are official awards, while the Rubble is an unofficial, but traditional award. The Rebel Award is presented for service to Southern fandom by a fan. the Phoenix is given for support by a pro of Southern fandom and/or professional work reflecting positively on the South, and the Rubble is given for the fan who’s done the most to Southern Fandom.

  • Rebel Award: Bob Ellis & Mike Pederson
  • Phoenix Award: Simon Hawke & Aaron Allston
  • Rubble Award: Chattanooga Choo-Choo Hotel for closing down

Obituary: David Widdicombe

Canadian screenwriter, playwright, and director David Widdicombe (b.1962) died on July 8. Widdicombe won the Aurora Award in 2001 for his stage play Science Fiction. His comedy Santa Baby was named best film comedy at the Los Angeles International Short Film Festival in 2006. Other works included the plays Dinosaur Dreams, Swamp Baby & Other Tales, and The River Lady. Widdicombe had suffered a series of small strokes and died from a large stroke.