Wizard World Shuffles Schedule

Wizard World has announced that five of their cons scheduled for Fall 2017, in Biloxi MS), Peoria (IL), Springfield (MO), Montgomery (AL), and Winston-Salem (NC), have been postponed until 2018, although specific dates have not been announced. They’ve also added a show in Boise (ID) for 2018. Wizard World will now be holding seventeen shows in 2018.
For more information…

Obituary: Hugh Hefner

Publisher Hugh Hefner (b.1926) died on September 27. Hefner was best known as the publisher of Playboy, which published science fiction throughout its history, including works by Harlan Ellison, Ray Bradbury, J.G. Ballard, Doris Lessing, and other major science fiction authors. In addition to the magazine, Playboy published The Playboy Book of Science Fiction and Galaxy, Thirty Years of Innovative Science Fiction.

Copper Cylinder Awards

The Sunburst Award Society has announced the winners of the Copper Cylinder Award, a popular vote award for the best Canadian fantastic literature. The award’s name comes from James de Mille’s “A Strange Manuscript Found in a Copper Cylinder,” widely considered to be the first work of Canadian science fiction.

  • Adult Award: Company Town, by Madeleine Ashby
  • Young Adult Award: The Skids, by Ian Donald Keeling

For more information…

Obituary: Kit Reed

Author Kit Reed (b.Lillian Craig Reed, 1932) died on September 24 from an inoperable brain tumor. Reed published her first short story, “The Wait” in 1958 and she was nominated for a Hugo for Best New Author of 1958, a forerunner to the John W. Campbell Award. Her short fiction has appeared in both genre and mainstream magazines and has been collected in ten collections over the years. She was nominated for the James Tiptree, Jr. Award three times and received the ALA Alex Award for Thinner Than Thou. Her novel Where was a John W. Campbell Memorial Award finalist. Reed was a Guggenheim Fellow and Resident Writer at Wesleyan University. Reed’s most recent novel, Mormama, was published earlier this year.

Obituary: Harvey Jacobs

Author Harvey Jacobs (b.1930) died on the evening of September 23 from an infection while being treated for brain cancer. Jacobs began publishing fiction in 1951 with the story “A Wind Age.” He focused on the short story length throughout the 60s and 70s, publishing his first novel, The Juror, in 1980. He also published Beautiful Soup and Side Effects. His novel American Goliath was nominated for the World Fantasy Award. his fiction was collected in The Egg of the Glak and My Rose & My Glove.

Aurora Award Winners

The winners of the 2017 English Language Prix Aurora Awards were announced on September 23 at Hal-Con 2017 in Halifax, Nova Scotia.

  • Best English Novel: Quantum Night, by Robert J. Sawyer
  • Best English Young Adult Novel: Icarus Down, by James Bow
  • Best English Short Fiction: “Marion’s War,” by Hayden Trenholm
  • Best English Poem/Song: No award was given out in this category in 2017 due to insufficient eligible nominees
  • Best English Graphic Novel: Angel Catbird, Volume One, by Margaret Atwood, Johnnie Christmas, and Tamra Bonvillian
  • Best English Related Work: Strangers Among Us: Tales of the Underdogs and Outcasts, edited by Susan Forest and Lucas K. Law
  • Best Visual Presentation: Arrival, directed by Denis Villeneuve
  • Best Artist: Samantha M. Beiko for the cover to Strangers Among Us: Tales of the Underdogs and Outcasts
  • Best English Fan Writing and Publications: Speculating Canada, edited by Derek Newman-Stille
  • Best Fan Organizational: Randy McCharles, chair, When Words Collide, Calgary
  • Best Fan Related Work: Derek Newman-Stille, Speculating, Canada on Trent Radio 92.7 FM
  • Best of the Decade: The Neanderthal Parallax, Robert J. Sawyer

For more information…

Elgin Award

The Science Fiction Poetry Association has announced the winners of this year’s Elgin Award for Books and Dwarf Star Awards for Short Speculative Poetry.

Elgin Awards

  • Book: Field Guide to the End of the World, by Jeannine Hall Gailey
  • Chapbook: Leviathan, by Neil Aitken

Dwarf Star

  • “aster than the speed of light,” by LeRoy Gorman

For more information…

Joan Aiken Prize

The first Joan Aiken Prize was won by Tim Ellis for Harklights. The competition is for works of middle-grade fiction and was judged by Lizza Aiken and agent Julia Churchill. Ellis receives £1,000 and a set of Aiken’s The Wolves Chronicles. The winner was announced on September 14.
For more information…

Forry Award

Greg Bear has been named the recipient of this year Forry Award, presented for lifetime achievemetn in the SF field by LASFS. The award had been presented annually since 1966. The winners are selected by a vote of the LASFS membership.
For more information…

Musecon Announces Closure

MuseCon, a Chicago area convention focusing on art, maker-space, and filk, has announced that MuseCon 7, held August 4-6, was the final convention. The Board of Directors is discussing ways to continue to support MuseCon’s mission of supporting creativity.
For more information…