Game of Thrones Hacker

Behzad Mesri has been charged with various counts of computer fraud, as well as wire fraud, interstate transmission of an extortionate communication, and aggravated identity theft as a result of hacking HBO’s servers and stealing and releasing episode of Game of Thrones early. Although he has been indicted, Mesri, who is Iranian, is not currently in custody.
For more information…

Obituary: Della Reese

Actress Della Reese (b.1931) died on November 19. Reese is best known for starring in the fantasy series Touched by an Angel. She also provided the voice for the Eema in Dinosaur. Prior to acting, she sang with Mahalia Jackson, the Erskine Hawkins Orchestra, and the Meditation Singers.

Obituary: Randy Byers

Seattle fan Randy Byers (b.1960) died on November 20. Byers co-edited the fanzine Chunga with Andy Hooper and Carl Juarez and won the 2007 Best Fanzine Hugo for Science Fiction Five-Yearly with co-editors Lee Hoffman and Geri Sullivan. ChungaAlternative Pants. Byers was the 2003 TAFF delegate to Seacon 03 in Britain.

Endeavour Awards

Patricia McKillip and Matt Ruff tied for this year’s Endeavour Award for McKillip’s novel Dreams of Distant Shores and Ruff’s novel Lovecraft Country. The winners were announced at Orycon and the award comes with a $1,000 prize and an engraved glass plaque. The Endeavour Award was established to recognize works of SF by authors working and living in the Pacific Northwest. The judges for the 2017 Award were Ginjer Buchanan, John R. Douglas, and Andy Duncan.

For more information…

Nommo Awards

The winners of the Nommo Awards, presented to recognize works of speculative fiction by Africans, were announced at the Ake Festival in Abeokuta, Nigeria. The awards were given out by the African Speculative Fiction Society.

  • Best Novel: Rosewater, by Tade Thompson
  • Best Novella: Binti, by Nnedi Okorafor
  • Best Short story: (tie) “The Marriage Plot,” by Tendai Huchu; “Who Will Greet You at Home,” by Lesley Nneka Arimah
  • Best Graphic Novel: Chronic no. 3, “The Corpse Exhibition,” by various writers and artists, edited by Ntone Edjabe

For more information…

Ragnarok Continues

Despite rumors that Ragnorak Publications would be closing its doors, Jeremy Mohler has announced the the publishing house will remain open, although they will be reassessing their position in the market. The new management team of Mohler and Alan Bahr has announced they will be cancelling all current novel contracts and pulling all books from publication. They will spend 2018 focusing on fixing internal problems they inherited and they will be splitting off Ragnarok (under Mohler) from Gallant Knight Games (under Bahr).
For more information…

Nebula Nominations Open

SFWA has announced that the Nebula Award nomination period is now open for all Active and Associate members of SFWA. The nomination for the 2017 Nebula Awards period runs from November 15-February 15. Nominations may be made for the Nebula Awards, the Bradbury Award, and the Norton Award. The Nebula Awards will be presented following a banquet at the SFWA Nebula Conference in Pittsburgh in May.

To nominate… (must be a SFWA member and log in).

Terran Republic Kickstarter

Charles E. Gannon is currently running a Kickstarter campaign to fund the publication of Lost Signals of the Terran Republic, a shared-world anthology set in his Caine Riordan universe. The campaign seeks to raise $7,500 before its December 13 deadline in order to publish a volume with stories by Lawrence M. Schoen, Tom Doyle, Walter H. Hunt, Jean Marie Ward, and other authors.
For more information…

SLF Drip Campaign

Mary Anne Mohanraj has announced that the Speculative Literature Foundation has partnered with Kickstarter to use their new Drip Funding system to offer regular subscriptions. The new model allows the SLF to plan for a steady stream of sponsor support in their planning.
For more information…

Dragon Nominations Open

Nominations for the third annual Dragon Awards are being accepted. The Dragon Awards are presented annually at DragonCon and anyone with an e-mail address can nominate or vote for awards in a variety of categories. The nominating period, whcih covers books published between July 1, 2017 and June 30, 2018, is open until July 20, 2018.
For more information…
(ETA: originally noted at File 770)