BSFA Finalists

The British Science Fiction Association has announced the nominees for this year’s BSFA Awards, to be presented on the evening of Saturday, April 1, at the Majestic Hotel in Harrogate, during Follycon, the 69th British National Science Fiction Convention (Eastercon).

Best Novel

  • The Rift, by Nina Allen
  • Dreams Before the Start of Time, by Anne Charnock
  • Exit West, by Mohsin Hamid
  • Provenance, by Ann Lecki

Best Shorter Fiction

  • “The Enclave,” by Anne Charnock
  • “These Constellations Will Be Yours,” by Elaine Cuyegkeng
  • “Uncanny Valley,” by Greg Egan
  • “Angular Size,” by Geoff Nelder
  • “The Murders of Molly Southbourne,” by Tade Thompson

Best Non-Fiction

  • Iain M. Banks, by Paul Kincaid
  • “The Myth of Meritocracy and the Reality of the Leaky Pipe and Other Obstacles in Science Fiction & Fantasy,” by Juliet E McKenna
  • Wells at the World’s End, by Adam Roberts
  • The 2017 Shadow Clarke Award blog, by Shadow Clarke Award jurors
  • The Unthinkability of Climate Change: Thoughts on Amitav Ghosh’s The Great Derangement, by Vandana Singh

Best Artwork

  • Sundown Towns, by Geneva Benton
  • Cover for The Ion Raider, by Jim Burns
  • Illustration for “These Constellations Will Be Yours,” by Galen Dara
  • Cover for The Memoirist, by Chris Moore
  • Illustration for “Waiting on a Bright Moon,” by Victo Ngai
  • Cover for 2084, by Marcin Wolski

For more information…