Julius Vogel Winners

The winners of the 2018 Sir Julius Vogel Awards have been announced. The awards are given annually by The Science Fiction and Fantasy Association of New Zealand (SFFANZ) for excellence in science fiction and fantasy by New Zealanders and New Zealand residents. This year’s awards were presented at Conclave 3.

Professional Award Nominees

  • Best Novel: Hounds of the Underworld, by Dan Rabarts & Lee Murray
  • Best Youth Novel: The Traitor and the Thief, by Gareth Ward
  • Best Novella / Novelette: Matters Arising from the Identification of the Body, by Simon Petrie
  • Best Short Story: “Crimson Birds of Small Miracles,” by Sean Monaghan
  • Best Collected Work: Mariah’s Prologues, by Grace Bridges
  • Best Professional Artwork: Cover artwork for Teleport, by Kate Strawbridge
  • Best Professional Production / Publication: Mistlands, by Laya Rose
  • Best Dramatic Presentation: The Changeover, directed by Stuart McKenzie and Miranda Harcourt, produced by Emma Slade
  • Best New Talent: Gareth Ward
  • Services To Science Fiction, Fantasy And Horror: Darian Smith

Fan Award Nominees

  • Best Fan Production/ Publication: Lexicon Convention Booklet, produced by Darusha Wehm
  • Best Fan Writing: Jo Toon, For “Pass the Rules,” Published in Phoenixzine
  • Best Fan Artwork: John Toon, Contributions to Phoenixzine and the 2017 Lexicon Convention Booklet
  • Services To Fandom: Jan Butterworth

For more information…