Science Fiction on Charon

Pluto’s moon Charon has received the first group of official names for its features, among them several with ties to science fiction. Clarke Montes has been named in honor of Arthur C. Clarke and Kubrick Mons is named for the director of the film 2001: A Space Odyssey. Butler Mons honors Octavia E. Butler. Dorothy Crater is named for the protagonist of Baum’s Oz stories and Nemo Crater is named for the captain of Verne’s Nautilus. Stanislaw Lem’s Prix the Pilot is immortalized in Pirx Crater.
For more information…

1 Comment

  1. Butler, Clarke, Kubrick Honored in First Official Feature Names for Pluto’s Largest Moon | File 770 — April 11, 2018 @ 8:48 pm

    […] to Steven H Silver for the story. Post is based on the NASA press […]

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.