Strange New Worlds Contest

Simon & Schuster has announced that they will be running the Strange New Worlds Writing Contest in 2016 to celebrate the fiftieth anniversary of Star Trek. Ten selections will be published in an official Star Trek anthology and two winners will also receive a Self-Publishing Package from Archway Publishing. Submission deadline is January 15, 2016.
For more information…

Very Wrong Role Play

Jonathon Wall, a 29 year old refrigerator mechanic in the Air Force was arrested at Salt Lake Comic Con in Salt Lake City after he claimed to be part of the Air Force Office of Special Investigations to obtain access to the Green Room. An off duty police officer working con security grew suspicious and questioned him, calling the real OSI. Wall explained that he had been given a VIP pass from a friend but wanted better access. He has been indicted for impersonating a federal officer and making false statements to a federal officer. If found guilty, he can receive a sentence of up to five years in prison.
For more information…

Obituary: Stuart Bergman

Tennessee fan Stuart Bergman (b.1965) died on October 6 after a year of battling cancer. Bergman, known as Shorty, was active in running MidSouthCon. He won a Best Food Award at DucKon for his “Walking Tacos” and was known for serving a drink referred to as “blue stuff.”

Lunacon is Crowdsourcing

Luncacon, which was founded in 1957, went on hiatus after the 2014 event. Following a restructuring, Luncacon is now trying to raise $8,000 to ensure that they can hold the convention in 2016. The cash is needed in order to pay for storage rental, make deposits on facilities, and ensure that they can bring their guests, Robert J. Sawyer, Naomi Novik, and Rick Sternbach, to the convention.

For more information…

Harryhausen Auction

Artifacts from the collection of Ray Harryhausen will go up for auction on October 17. Harryhausen was known for his work in stop-motion animation and worked on films such as Clash of the Titans, The Seventh Voyage of Sinbad, and Jason and the Argonauts. Auction items include models, paintings, and cameras, many of the objects autographed by Harryhausen.

For more information…

Wiscon 40 Co-Chairs Resign

Wiscon 40 Co-Chairs Andrea Horbinski and s.e. smith have announced their resignation. Horbinski explained that they decided they were not a good fit for the current culture at Wiscon and were leaving now to give the Motherboard a chance to find a replacement. The Motherboard has announced SF3 Board President Jackie Lee as an interim Chair. Wiscon 40 is scheduled to take place in Madison, WI the weekend of May 27-30, 2016. Sofia Samatar, Justine Larbalestier, and Nalo Hopkinson are the Guests of Honor.

For more information…For more information…

Back to the Future Two Steps Closer

With the Cubs defeating the Pittsburgh Pirates in a one-game play-off and getting closer to the World Series and Pepsi announcing a limited edition of Pepsi Perfect in a futuristic bottle, it appears the world is moving a little closer to the October 21 predicted in Back to the Future II. Pepsi Perfect will be available at New York Comic Con and then released on-line on October 21. The 16.9 ounce bottle will retail at $20 and only 6,500 will be produced. Nike is also trying to release self-tightening sneakers before the end of the year.
Fore more about Pepsi…
For more about the Cubs…
For more on Nike…

Faned Awards

R. Graeme Cameron announced the winners of the FanEd Awards at VCon in Vancouver the weekend of October 2-4.

  • Best Fan Artist: Taral Wayne
  • Best Fan Writer: Dale Speirs
  • Best LOC Writer: Lloyd Penny
  • Best Canadian Fanzine: BCSFAzine
  • Hall of Fame: Joseph “Beak” Taylor — Eight-Ball/Canadian Fandom.

Geffen Award Winners

The winners of the 2015 Geffen Awards were announced at Icon in Tel Aviv during the weekend of September 30-October 2. The awards are presented by the Israeli Society for Science Fiction and Fantasy, and are named after the late Amos Geffen, one of the first Israeli SF editors and translators.

  • Best Translated Science Fiction Book: The Martian , by Andy Weir; translated by Didi Chanoch
  • Best Translated Fantasy Book: The Ocean at the End of the Lane, by Neil Gaiman; translated by Didi Chanoch
  • Best Translated YA Book: Ozma of Oz and Dorothy and the Wizard in Oz , by L. Frank Baum; translated by Gili Bar-Hillel Semo
  • Best Original Hebrew SF&F Short Story: “Five Four Three Two One,” by Hila Benyovich-Hoffman
  • Best Original Hebrew Book: Broken Skies, by Keren Landsman

For more information (Hebrew)…
For more information (English)…

Southern Fandom Awards

The Rebel Award, Phoenix Award, the Rubble Award, and a new Fleur de Fan Award were all presented at DeepSouthCon 53/ContraFlow V in New Orleans, LA. The Rebel and Phoenix Awards are official awards, while the Rubble is an unofficial, but traditional award. The Rebel Award is presented for service to Southern fandom by a fan. the Phoenix is given for support by a pro of Southern fandom and/or professional work reflecting positively on the South, and the Rubble is given for the fan who’s done the most to Southern Fandom. The new Fleur de Fan Award is presented by Contraflow.

  • Rebel Award: Frank Sciotta, for being an instrumental volunteer at many conventions and Michael Scott, founder of CoastCon
  • Phoenix Award: Diana Rowland and Robert Asprin
  • Rubble Award: The Force of Gravity for taking away Ned Brooks so recently

Fleur de Fan Awards

  • Pro Fleur de Fan Award: Toni Weisskopf, for her support of ContraFlow
  • Fan Fleur de Fan Award: Area 51 for amazing room parties
  • Fan Fleur de Fan Award: Walter M. Scott, local fan and volunteer

ETA: Addition Fleur de Fan winners.