Obituary: George Barris

Car designer George Barris (b.1925) died on November 5. Barris is best known for designing the 1966 Batmobile and went on to design custom cars for The Munsters and The Beverly Hillbillies. Barris bought the Lincoln Futura which was the base for the Batmobile for $1 and spent about $15,000 to run it into the iconic car. In 2013, he sold the original Batmobile for $4.2 million.

Obituary: Charles Herbert

Actor Charles Herbert (b.1948) died on October 31. Herbert appeared in the original The Fly, The Colossus of New York, and episodes of The Twilight Zone, Men Into Space, and The Outer Limits.

Ignotus Award Winners

The winners of this year’s Ignotus Awards were announced at Hispacon, held this year in Grenada. The Award presentation was the weekend of October 31.

  • Novel: El mapa del caos, by Félix J. Palma
  • Novelette: Los centinelas del tiempo, by Javier Negrete
  • Story: “Casas rojas,” by Nieves Delgado
  • Anthology: Terra Nova 3, by Various authors
  • Non-Fiction: Category canceled this year to not meeting minimum of nominations.
  • Article: “20 autores de relatos de ciencia ficción que deberías estar leyendo,” by Elías F. Combarro
  • Illustration: Retrofuturismos, by Alejandro Colucci
  • Audiovisual Production: Los Verdhugos, by Various authors
  • Comic: Category canceled this year to not meeting minimum of nominations.
  • Poetry: Category canceled this year to not meeting minimum of nominations.
  • Magazine: Scifiworld
  • Foreign Novel: The Martian, by Andy Weir
  • Foreign Story: “The Player”, by Paolo Bacigalupi
  • Web Site: La tercera fundación, by La asociación Clitural Los Conseguidores

For more information…

Obituary: Melissa Mathison

Screenwriter Melissa Mathison (b.1950) died on November 4. Mathison is best known for writing the film E.T.: The Extraterrestrial. She also wrote the second section of The Twilight Zone: The Movie, The BFG, and The Indian in the Cupboard. Non-genre film credits include work as a location scout for The Godfather: Part II and as an executive assistant on Apocalypse Now. From 1983-2004, she was married to Harrison Ford.

Obituary: T. M. Wright

Author T. M. Wright (b.1947) died on October 31. Terry Wright began publishing fiction in 1978 with the novel Strange Seed, although in 1968 he published the non-fiction The Intelligent Man’s Guide to Flying Saucers. His short fiction appeared in Twilight Zone, Brutarian, and Cemetery Dance among other places. Wright occasionally used the pseudonym F. W. Armstrong and painted book and magazine covers.

Obituary: Kent Farris

Chicago fan Kent Farris (b.c.1956) died on November 3. Farris, who used the con name “Goofy,” was a frequent attendee at Chicago area conventions. He died when his car crashed into a retention pond.

Prix Utopiales Awarded

The Prix Utopiales winners were announced at the Nantes Utopiales Festival International de Science-Fiction. The awards carry a prize of €3000 and are presented for works produced by Europeans and published in French in the year of eligibility. The Julia Verlanger Prize is a literary award established in 1986 which honors science fiction and fantasy novels.

  • Prix Julia Verlanger: Lum’en, by Laurent Genefort
  • Prix Extraordinaire: Manchu
  • Prix du meilleur scénario de jeux de rôle: Un prophète, (for the game Cthulhu by Pierre Jean-Marc Choserot
  • Prix du meilleur jeu vidéo réalisé à la Game Jam: Button Factory, by Samuel Bouchet, Pierre Chabiland, Rémi Gourrierec, and Louis Godart
  • Prix de la meilleure bande dessinée de science-fiction: Les Ogres-Dieux, edited by Hubert and Bertrand Gatignol
  • Prix du Jury – compétition internationale de courts métrages: World of Tomorrow, by Don Hertzfeldt
  • Prix du public – compétition internationale de courts métrages: Juliet, by Marc-Henri Boulier
  • Prix Canal+ – compétition internationale de courts-métrages: Portal to Hell!!!, by Vivieno Caldinelli
  • Grand Prix du Jury – compétition internationale de longs métrages: Évolution, by Lucile Hadzihalilovic
  • Prix Syfy du public – compétition internationale de longs métrages: Moonwalkers, by Antoine Bardou-Jacquet
  • Prix Utopiales Européen Jeunesse: Humains, by Matt Haig; translated by Valérie Le Plouhinec
  • Prix Utopiales Européen: L’Autre Ville, by Michal Ajvaz; translated by Benoît Meunier

For more information… (French)

Crossed Genres Closing

The publishers of Crossed Genres have announced that the magazine will cease publication following its December issue. Publisher Bart Leib provided two reasons for closing the magazine. The publishers no longer have the time to produce it to their level of standards and they have also reached a point where they lack funding to continue.
For more information…

His Dark Materials to BBC

The BBC has announced they will be producing a television series based on Phillip Pullman’s “His Dark Materials” trilogy. The eight-part series will be produced by Bad Wolf. Previously, a film of the first volume of the series was released in 2007 starring Nicole Kidman, Daniel Craig, and Dakota Blue Richards. No air date has been announced.

For more information…

Westercon Pass-alongs

The chairs of Westercons 67, 68, and 69 have announced plans to start pass-along funds for Westercons modeled after the system in use by Worldcons since 1987. Since each Westercon is a stand-alone event, pass-along funds will help each Westercon achieve financial viability. Westercons 67 and 68 will start the fund by passing along funds to the 2016 Westercon, to be held in Portland, OR.
For more information…