Obituary: Mary H. Rosenblum

Author Mary Rosenblum (b.1952) died on March 11 when the small plane she was flying crashed near Battle Ground, Washington. Rosenblum won the Compton Crook Award in 1994 for her debut novel, The Drylands and followed up with several other novels, writing mysteries as Mary Freeman, her maiden name. Her short story, “Sacrifice” won the 2009 Sidewise Award for Alternate History.

Obituary: Kate Wilhelm

Author Kate Wilhelm (b.1928) died on March 8. Wilhelm began publishing in 1956 with the story “The Pint-Sized Genie” and her first sf novel, The Clone, written with Theodore L. Thomas, was nominated for the Nebula Award. She won the Hugo Award twice, including for her novel Where Late the Sweet Birds Sang and the Nebula three times. She helped establish the SFWA and Clarion Workshop and helped run the early Milford Writers Workshops. Along with husband Damon Knight, she was a Pro Guest of Honor at Noreascon Two and was inducted into the Science Fiction Hall of Fame in 2003. She received an inaugural Solstice Award in 2009 and in 2016, the awards was renamed the Kate Wilhelm Solstice Award in her honor.

Send Your Name to the Sun

NASA will be including an electronic list of names on the Parker Solar Probe, which is designed to plunge into the Sun’s atmosphere on the closest pass to the Sun’s surface ever. They are inviting the public to submit their names to be included on the memory card. Names must be received by April 27, 2018.
For more information…

Sparhawk Receives O’Donnell Award

SFWA has announced that Bud Sparhawk will receive this year’s Kevin O’Donnell, Jr. Service to SFWA Award on March 19 at the SFWA Nebula Conference in Pittsburgh. In addition to serving as a director, treasurer and CFO for the organization, he has also advised the Emergency Medical Fund and the Grants Committee and established SFWA’s Financial Advisory Committee.

Obituary: Peter Nicholls

Editor and author Peter Nicholls (b.1939) died on March 6 from cancer. Nicholls is perhaps best known as the editor of The Science Fiction Encyclopedia, which won a Hugo Award in 1980 for its first edition. The second and third editions, under the title The Encyclopedia of Science Fiction also earned Nicholls a second and third Hugo Award when they were released. Nicholls also won the Pilgrim Award, Peter McNamara Award, and Eaton Award. From 1974-1978, he was the co-editor of Foundation.

SFRA Awards

The Science Fiction Research Association has announced their annual awards.

  • Thomas D. Clareson Award for distinguished service: Veronica Hollinger
  • Mary Kay Bray Award for best essay, interview, or extended review to appear in the SFRA Review: Hugh C. O’Connell for his review of Jack Fennell’s Irish Science Fiction
  • Pilgrim Award for lifetime contribution to SF and Fantasy scholarship: Carl Freedman
  • Pioneer Award for best critical essay-length work of the year: Thomas Strychacz for “The Political Economy of Potato Farming in Andy Weir’s The Martian” in Science Fiction Studies
  • Student Paper Award for outstanding scholarly essay read at the annual SFRA conference: Josh Pearson, for “New Weird Frankenworlds: Speaking and Laboring Worlds in Cisco’s Internet of Everything.”
  • Honorable mention for student paper goes to Kylie Kornsnack for “Towards a Time Travel Aesthetic: Writing-between-worlds in Okorafor, Butler, and Baledosingh.”

For more information…

Bangladeshi SF Author Attacked

Bangladeshi science fiction author Muhammed Zafar Iqbal was stabbed in the back of the head during an award ceremony at a fair organized by the Department of Electrical and Electronic Engineering. In addition to his science fiction, Zafar Iqbal works as an electrical engineering professor and hold several patents. Zafar Iqbal’s assailant has been arrested.
For more information…

Bram Stoker Awards

The Horror Writers Association (HWA) announced the winners of the 2017 Bram Stoker Awards at Stokercon in Providence, RI on March 3.

  • Superior Achievement in a Novel: Ararat, by Christopher Golden
  • Superior Achievement in a First Novel: Cold Cuts, by Robert Payne Cabeen
  • Superior Achievement in a Young Adult Novel: The Last Harvest, by Kim Liggett
  • Superior Achievement in a Graphic Novel: Kindred: A Graphic Novel Adaptation, by Damian Duffey and Octavia E. Butler
  • Superior Achievement in Long Fiction: Mapping the Interior, Stephen Graham Jones
  • Superior Achievement in Short Fiction: “Apocalypse Then,” by Lisa Mannetti, Lisa
  • Superior Achievement in a Fiction Collection: Strange Weather, by Joe Hill
  • Superior Achievement in a Screenplay: Get Out, by Jordan Peele
  • Superior Achievement in an Anthology: Behold!: Oddities, Curiosities & Undefinable Wonders, by Doug Murano
  • Superior Achievement in Non-Fiction: Paperbacks from Hell: The Twisted History of ‘70s and ‘80s Horror Fiction, by Grady Hendrix
  • Superior Achievement in a Poetry Collection: A Collection of Nightmares, by Christina Sng

For more information…

Razzie Awards

The 38th annual Razzie Award “winners” have been announced. The Razzies are given for the worst films to hit theatres in a given year. Below is a complete listing of winners.

  • Worst Picture: The Emoji Movie
  • Worst Actor: Tom Cruise in The Mummy
  • Worst Actress: Tyler Perry in Boo 2!: A Madea Halloween
  • Worst Supporting Actor: Mel Gibson in Daddy’s Home 2
  • Worst Supporting Actress: Kim Basinger in Fifty Shades Darker
  • Worst Screen Combo: Any Two Obnoxious Emojis in The Emoji Movie
  • Worst Director: Anthony (Tony) Leonidis for The Emoji Movie
  • Worst Screenplay: Tony Leonidis, Eric Siegel, and Mike White for The Emoji Movie
  • Worst Prequel, Remake, Rip-Off or Sequel: Fifty Shades Darker

For more information…

Oscar Winners

The winners of this year’s Academy Awards were announced on March 4. Categories with winners of genre interest are listed below. Depending on the categorization of The Shape of Water, this may be the first time a science fiction film (as opposed to horror or fantasy) has won the Best Picture Oscar.

  • Best Picture: The Shape of Water
  • Animated Feature Film: Coco
  • Cinematography: Roger A. Deakins, Blade Runner 2049
  • Directing: Guillermo del Toro, The Shape of Water
  • Music (Original Score): Alexandre Desplay, The Shape of Water
  • Music (Original Song): “Remember Me,” Music and Lyric by Kristen Anderson-Lopez and Robert Lopez, from Coco
  • Production Design: Production Design: Paul Denham Austerberry, Set Decoration: Shane Vieau and Jeff Melvin, The Shape of Water
  • Animated Short: Dear Basketball
  • Visual Effects: John Nelson, Gerd Nefzer, Paul Lambert, and Richard R. Hoover, Blade Runner 2049
  • Writing (Original Screenplay): Get Out, written by Jordan Peele

For more information…