2017 Dell Magazine Award for Undergraduate Excellence in Science Fiction and Fantasy Writing

Dell Magazines has announced the winners of the 2017 Dell Magazine Award for Undergraduate Excellence in Science Fiction and Fantasy Writing. The contest has run every year since 1994 with prizes presented at the ICFA in Orlando.

  • Winner: “Noor,” by Taimur Ahmad of Princeton University
  • First Runner-up: “The Food of Love,” by Claire Spaulding, Columbia University
  • Second Runner-up: “Questions for Oretta,” by Alexandra Barr, University of Alberta
  • Third Runner-up: “Braidwood Rings,” by Pearl Lorentzen, University of Alberta
  • Honorable Mention: “Everyone is Split,” by Taimur Ahmad, Princeton University
  • Honorable Mention: “Everything, in Both Hands,” by Alina Sichevaya, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
  • Honorable Mention: “Protagonist,” by Gian-Paul Bergeron, Yale University
  • Honorable Mention: “Storm & Splinter,” by Marcella Haddad, Arcadia University
  • Honorable Mention: “Ravenous Things,” by Sarah Goldman, Bryn Mawr College

Le Guin Fellowship

Theodora Goss has been announced as the recipient of a Le Guin Fellowship sponsored by the Center for the Study of Women in Society at the University of Oregon, Robert D. Clark Honors College, and UO Libraries Special Collections and University Archives. The fellowship will allow Goss to travel to Le Guin’s archives at the University of Oregon so she can research the Le Guin book she’s writing for University of Illinois Press.
For more information…

Baen Adds Lexile Scores

Baen Books has announced that they will begin adding Lexile scores to the webpages for their books aimed at young adults. Lexile scores are designed to help students and teachers determine which books offer the proper challenge for students based on their individual reading levels. The first Baen books to include Lexile scores will be David Weber’s A Beautiful Friendship, Treecat Wars and Fire Season, by David Weber and Jane Lindskold, and for Tony Daniel’s The Dragon Hammer.
For more information… (.pdf)

Tolkien Receives Bodley Medal

Christopher Tolkien, the son of J.R.R. Tolkien, has received the Bodley Medal in recognition of his contribution to the world of literature for editing and publishing the previously unpublished works of his father. Tolkien’s papers have been housed at the Bodleian Libraries in Oxford since the authors death in 1973.

For more information…

Obituary Paul A. Carter

Author Paul A. Carter (b.1926) died on November 28. Carter wrote eleven short stories, including two with Gregory Benford, as well as a monograph on the first fifty years of science fiction magazines.

Obituary: Cornel Robu

Romanian critic Cornel Robu (b.1938) died on October 27. Robu edited the first reprint and critical edition of Victor Anestin’s În anul 4000 sau O cǎlǎtorie la Venus. Robu also edited multiple critical anthologies of Romanian science fiction. Robu was also a university lecturer and wrote the entry on Romanian science fiction for the Science Fiction Encyclopedia.

Stephen King Chair

The University of Maine in Orono has announced the endowment of the Stephen E. King Chair in Literature. The position is for a five year renewable term and is tenured. They are currently taking applications for the first professor to fill the position, whose term will begin in August 2017. The chair is named for horror author Stephen King, who graduated from the university in 1970. The position is partially endowed by the Harold Alfond Foundation.

For more information…

Big Bang Scholarships

The producers of The Big Bang Theory have announced the five recipients of the Big Bang Theory Scholarship Endowment. This academic award will present each student with $10,000 per academic year towards their STEM education. The scholarship was put up by the producers and actors on the television show and the recipients also received invitations to attend a tapin g of teh show.

  • Steven La
  • Mia Reyes
  • Amy Shao
  • Jonathan Shi Jr.
  • Mateen Ul Hassan

For more information…

Gunn Honored

James Gunn has received a lifetime teaching award from the Writing the Rockies writers conference at Western Colorado State University. Gunn, who has published numerous novels, stories, and academic books, created the Center for the Study of Science Fiction at the University of Kansas, is a SFWA Grand Master, a member of the Science Fiction Hall of Fame, and a Hugo Award recipient.

For more information…

Le Guin Feminist Science Fiction Fellowship Available

The University of Oregon has announced that the application period for the Le Guin Feminist Science Fiction Fellowship is open through Friday, September 2. The Fellowship is provided to encourage research within collections in the area of feminist science fiction. $3,000 will be awarded for travel for the purpose of research on, and work with, the papers of feminist science fiction authors housed in the UO Libraries Special Collections and University Archives.

For more information…