Big Bang Scholarships

The producers of The Big Bang Theory have announced the five recipients of the Big Bang Theory Scholarship Endowment. This academic award will present each student with $10,000 per academic year towards their STEM education. The scholarship was put up by the producers and actors on the television show and the recipients also received invitations to attend a tapin g of teh show.

  • Steven La
  • Mia Reyes
  • Amy Shao
  • Jonathan Shi Jr.
  • Mateen Ul Hassan

For more information…

Gunn Honored

James Gunn has received a lifetime teaching award from the Writing the Rockies writers conference at Western Colorado State University. Gunn, who has published numerous novels, stories, and academic books, created the Center for the Study of Science Fiction at the University of Kansas, is a SFWA Grand Master, a member of the Science Fiction Hall of Fame, and a Hugo Award recipient.

For more information…

Le Guin Feminist Science Fiction Fellowship Available

The University of Oregon has announced that the application period for the Le Guin Feminist Science Fiction Fellowship is open through Friday, September 2. The Fellowship is provided to encourage research within collections in the area of feminist science fiction. $3,000 will be awarded for travel for the purpose of research on, and work with, the papers of feminist science fiction authors housed in the UO Libraries Special Collections and University Archives.

For more information…

Science Fiction and Technoculture Studies Book Prize

The University of California-Riverside has announced the winner of the Science Fiction and Technoculture Studies Book Prize for 2015. The award honors an outstanding scholarly monograph that explores the intersections between popular culture, particularly science fiction, and the discourses and cultures of technoscience. This year’s winner is Mondo Nano: Fun and Games in the World of Digital Matter, by Colin Milburn.
For more information…

SFRA Winners

The winners of the SFRA Awards, presented annually by the Science Fiction Research Association, were announced at this year’s SFRA conference, June 27-30, in Liverpool, UK.

  • Pilgrim Award (for life time contributions to SF/F studies): Mark Bould
  • Pioneer Award (for outstanding essay-length work of the year): “‘Shutter-Stop Flash-Bulb Strange’: GMOs and the Aesthetics of Scale in Paolo Bacigalupi’s The Windup Girl,” by Scott Selisker
  • Thomas D. Clareson Award for Distinguished Service: Farah Mendlesohn
  • Mary Kay Bray Award (for the best essay, interview, or extended review in the past year’s SFRA Review): Amy Ransom
  • Student Essay Award (for best student paper presented at the previous year’s SFRA conference): Dagmar Van Engen

For more information…

Call For Papers: Spanish SF

Science Fiction Studies has issued a call for papers for a monographic issue on Spanish SF, edited by guest editors Sara Martín and Fernando Ángel Moreno. While all topics on Spanish SF will be considered, the editors are particularly interested in articles dealing with writers Gabriel Bermúdez Castillo, Rafael Marín, Rodolfo Martínez, or Javier Negrete and with SF women writers (excluding Elia Barceló). All submission should be in English, with abstracts due by March 30 and complete papers by 1 September.
For more information…

Two “New” Tolkien Poems Found

Two previously unknown poems by J. R. R. Tolkien have been found in an issue of the Abingdon Chronicle, published by Our Lady’s School in Abingdon, Oxfordshire in 1936. References to the poems was found by Tolkien scholar Wayne Hammond, who contacted the school where a copy of the magazine was eventually discovered. One of the poems is a Christmas poem, the other was reworked into a poem appearing in The Adventures of Tom Bombadil.

For more information…

VanderMeer to be Author-in-Residence

Science fiction author Jeff VanderMeer will serve as author-in-residence at the Hobart and Williams Smith Colleges for the 2016-7 academic year. In his role there, VanderMeer will teach a Fall semester class and work with selected students during the Spring smemester. In addition, VanderMeer will reading and lecture, participate in a service event for the greater Geneva community and curate a reading series featuring Dexter Palmer, Ottessa Moshfegh and a third writer to-be-announced. The Residency is supported by The Peter Trias Endowed Fund for Poetry and Creative Writing.
For more information…

Journal of Science Fiction Debuts

The Museum of Science Fiction has debuted the first issue of its scholarly journal, Journal of Science Fiction. The first issue includes articles about Dune, Indian science fiction, science fiction by women, and Paolo Bacigalupi’s fiction.

For more information…

IAFA Awards

The International Association for the Fantastic in the Arts has announced the winners of its 2016 awards and has also announced that the Graduate Student Award will be re-named the David G. Hartwell Emerging Scholar Award, after the late David G. Hartwell. The winner of the Hartwell Award will be announced later.

  • Crawford Award: The Sorcerer of the Wildeeps, by Kai Ashante Wilson
  • IAFA Distinguished Scholarship Award: Cristina Bacchilega
  • Jamie Bishop Memorial Award: Natacha Vas-Deyres and Patrick Bergeron
  • Walter James Miller Memorial Award: Kristy Eager

For more information…