Delany Named to New York State Writers Hall of Fame

The Empire State Center for the Book and the Empire State Book Festival have announced the Samuel R. Delany will be inducted into the New York State Writers Hall of Fame. Delany will join other science fiction and fantasy authors Madeleine L’Engle, Kurt Vonnegut, E. L. Doctorow, Washington Irving, and Isaac Asimov in the Hall. The induction ceremony will take place on June 7.

For more information…

Obituary: David Lake

Author David Lake (b.1929) died on January 31. Lake began publishing in 1976 with the novel Walkers on the Sky and went on to publish several novels, including two sequels to H. G. Well’s The Time Machine, as well as a non-fiction book about Wells and short stories. Lake won three Ditmars for Walker on the Sky, The Man Who Loved Morlocks, and “The Truth About Weena.” “The Truth About Weena” also won the Aurealis Award.

VanderMeer to be Author-in-Residence

Science fiction author Jeff VanderMeer will serve as author-in-residence at the Hobart and Williams Smith Colleges for the 2016-7 academic year. In his role there, VanderMeer will teach a Fall semester class and work with selected students during the Spring smemester. In addition, VanderMeer will reading and lecture, participate in a service event for the greater Geneva community and curate a reading series featuring Dexter Palmer, Ottessa Moshfegh and a third writer to-be-announced. The Residency is supported by The Peter Trias Endowed Fund for Poetry and Creative Writing.
For more information…

WFC Names Guests of Honor

The 2016 World Fantasy Convention has announced that Mercedes Lackey, Larry Dixon, and L. E. Modesitt, Jr. will be their Guests of Honor. At the same time, the convention released its harassment policy, based on the policy used by the 2014 World Fantasy Con in Washington, as well as its accessibility policy. Both policies were released a day after a rate increase and after many on-line complaints.
For more information…

Latham Fired from Riverside

Rob Latham, who helped create the Science Fiction Studies program at the University of California-Riverside, has been dismissed despite holding tenure from the organization. An investigation into Latham began when he was accused of sexual harassment by a graduate student. The resulting investigation argued “strongly against a finding of sexual harassment,” however the university elected to remove Latham.

For more information…

Obituary: Marvin Minsky

Marvin Minsky (b.1927) died on January 24. Minsky was integral to the field of artificial intelligence. He served as an advisor on the film 2001: a space odyssey and later collaborated with Harry Harrison on the novel The Turing Option.

Smith Receives Lifetime Libertarian Award

L. Neil Smith has been named the recipient of this year’s Lifetime Achievement Award by the Libertarian Futurist Society, recognizing his contribution to Libertarian science fiction. Smith has previously received the Prometheus Award on four different occasions, including his first award for his novel The Probability Broach, which was the first award presented by the Libertarian Futurist Society, although the Prometheus Award was awarded previous to the Society’s founding. Smith created the Prometheus Award in 1979.

Obituary: Bill Baldwin

Author Merl “Bill” Baldwin, Jr. (b.1935) died on October 14. Baldwin wrote “The Helmsman” series, beginning in 1985 and continuing through eight books, ending with The Turning Tide in 2011. He also wrote the stand-alone novels Canby’s Legion and The Enigma Strategy.

Pullman Resigns From Oxford Lit Fest

Philip Pullman, the author of His Dark Materials has announced his resignation as the patron of the Oxford Literary Festival. Pullman explained that he had a difficult time resolving his position as the festival’s patron and his position as president of the Society of Authors given that the latter seeks to have authors receive a fair payment for their work and the former does not pay appearance fees.
For more information…

Obituary: A. R. Morlan

Author A. R. Morlan (b.1958) committed suicide on January 4 or 5. Morlan began publishing horror in 1985 with the short story “Four Days Before the Snow” in Night Cry and published several collections of her own work over the years. She co-edited the anthology Zodiac Fantastic with Martin H. Greenberg in 1997. In 1994, her story “The Best Years of Our Lives” was nominated for the Tiptree Award.