Prometheus Hall of Fame Winner

The Libertarian Futurist Society has announced that Harlan Ellison’s story “‘Repent, Harlequin!’ Said the Ticktockman” will receive its Hall of Fame Award. The award will be presented on May 9 at Marcon, where F. Paul Wilson will also receive a Lifetime Achievement Award.

For more information…

Franson Award

George Phillies has received the Donald Franson Award from the National Fantasy Fan Federation (N3F). The award recognizes outstanding service to the N3F and is presented by the President. At the same time, the N3F has called for nominations for the annual Neffy Awards, nominations to be sent to recent Franson Award recipient George Phillies.

Black Gate Withdraws from Hugo Ballot

John O’Neill has announced his decision to withdraw Black Gate from the Best Fanzine category on this year’s Hugo ballot. Since the ballot was released, O’Neill has been advocating for No Award in his own and other categories and has now stated “We can’t both be a part of the ballot, and actively working against it.” Black Gate is now the third nominee withdrawn since the ballot went live and several other potential nominees have announced that they had turned down a nomination prior to the announcement of the ballot.

For more information…

Further Hugo Ballot Changes

With the withdrawal from the ballot by Marko Kloos of his novel Lines of Departure and by Annie Bellet of her short story “Goodnight Stars,” the Hugo Administrators have added additional works to the ballots. The addition in the novel category is Cixin Liu’s The Three-Body Problem and in the Short Story category the addition is “A Single Samurai,” by Steven Diamond

Best Novel

  • Ancillary Sword, by Ann Leckie
  • The Dark Between the Stars, by Kevin J. Anderson
  • The Gobin Emperor, by Katherine Addison
  • Skin Game: A Novel of the Dresden Files, by Jim Butcher
  • The Three-Body Problem, by Cixin Liu

Best Short Story

  • “On a Spiritual Plain,” by Lou Antonelli
  • “The Parliament of Beasts and Birds,” by John C. Wright
  • “A Single Samurai,” by Steven Diamond
  • “Totaled,” by Kary English
  • “Turncoat,” by Steve Rzasa

For more information…

Hugo Nominees Withdrawn

Marko Kloos and Annie Bellet have issued statements withdrawing their Hugo nominated works from the ballot this year. Kloos was nominated for his novel Lines of Departure and withdrew the work because he felt that he couldn’t accept a nomination that may not have been entirely due to the work’s own merit. Bellet has withdrawn her story “Goodnight Stars” from the ballot because this year’s Hugo Awards have become about more than just great science fiction.

Marko Kloos’ statement…
Annie Bellet’s statement…

Aurealis Awards

The 2014 Aurealis Awards winners were announced on April 12 in Canberra, Australia. The Aurealis Awards are given out annual for excellence in Australian speculative fiction.

  • Best Illustrated Book or Graphic Novel: Mr Unpronounceable and the Sect of the Bleeding Eye, by Tim Molloy
  • Best Children’s Book: Shadow Sister, by Carole Wilkinson
  • Best Young Adult Short Fiction: “Vanilla,” by Dirk Flinthart
  • Best Young Adult Novel: The Cracks in the Kingdom, by Jaclyn Moriarty
  • Best Horror Short Fiction: “Home and Hearth,” by Angela Slatter
  • Best Horror Novel: Razorhurst, by Justine Larbalestier
  • Best Fantasy Short Fiction: “St Dymphna’s School for Poison Girls,” by Angela Slatter
  • Best Fantasy Novel: Dreamer’s Pool, by Juliet Marillier
  • Best Science Fiction Short Fiction: “Wine, Women and Stars,” by Thoraiya Dyer
  • Best Science Fiction Novel: Peacemaker, by Marianne de Pierres
  • Best Anthology: Kaleidoscope, edited by Alisa Krasnostein & Julia Rios
  • Best Collection: The Female Factory, by Lisa L. Hannett & Angela Slatter
  • Convenor’s Award: Night Terrace team

For more information…

Hugo Ballot Changes

Sasquan has announced changes to the Hugo Ballot based on two nominees being found ineligible. John C. Wright’s novelette “Yes, Virginia, There is a Santa Claus” was determined to be a reprint, having previously appeared on his website in 2013 and artist Jon Eno did not publish any eligible work in 2014. Wright’s story has been replaced by Thomas Olde Heuvelt’s “The Day The World Turned Upside Down” and Eno has been replaced by Kirk DouPonce. Two other investigations determined the nominees in those categories were significant expansions of previously published works and were eligible. The revised categories are listed below.

Best Novelette

  • “Ashes to Ashes, Dust to Dust, Earth to Alluvium,” by Gray Rinehart
  • “Championship B’tok,” by Edward M. Lerner
  • “The Day The World Turned Upside Down,” by Thomas Olde Heuvelt
  • “The Journeyman: In the Stone House,” by Michael F. Flynn
  • “The Triple Sun: A Golden Age Tale,” by Rajnar Vajra

Best Professional Artist

  • Julie Dillon
  • Kirk DouPonce
  • Nick Greenwood
  • Alan Pollack
  • Carter Reid

Arthur C. Clarke Nominations

The shortlist for the Arthur C. Clarke Award has been released. The judges this year include Duncan Lawie, Nicholas Whyte, Sarah Brown, Lesley Hall, and Leila Abu El Hawa. The winner, who will receive £2015.00 and the award, will be announced on May 6 at Foyles Bookshop, as part of the activities leading up to the SCI-FI-LONDON Film Festival.

  • The Girl With All The Gifts, by M.R. Carey
  • The Book Of Strange New Things, by Michel Faber
  • Europe In Autumn, by Dave Hutchinson
  • Memory Of Water, by Emmi Itäranta
  • The First Fifteen Lives Of Harry August, by Claire North
  • Station Eleven, by Emily St John Mandel

For more information…

Ditmar Winners

The winners of the 2015 Ditmar Awards, for Australian SF, were announced at Swacon 40 in Perth on April 5.

  • Best Novel: (tie) The Lascar’s Dagger, by Glenda Larke; Thief’s Magic, by Trudi Canavan
  • Best Novella or Novelette: “The Legend Trap,” by Sean Williams
  • Best Short Story: “The Seventh Relic,” by Cat Sparks
  • Best Collected Work: Kaleidoscope, edited by Alisa Krasnostein and Julia Rios
  • Best Artwork: Illustrations in Black-Winged Angels, by Kathleen Jennings
  • Best Fan Writer: Tansy Rayner Roberts, for his body of work
  • Best Fan Artist: Kathleen Jennings, for her body of work, including Fakecon art and “Illustration Friday”
  • Best Fan Publication in Any Medium: The Writer and the Critic, by Kirstyn McDermott and Ian Mond
  • Best New Talent: Helen Stubbs
  • William Atheling Jr. Award for Criticism or Review: “Does Sex Make Science Fiction Soft?” by Tansy Rayner Roberts
  • Peter McNamara Award: Mery Binns
  • Norma K Hemming Award: The Wonders, by Paddy O’Reilly
  • A. Bertram Chandler Award: Donna Maree Hanson

For more information…

BSFA Winners

The winners of the 2015 BSFA Awards were announced at Dysprosium, this year’s Eastercon on April 5.

  • Novel: Ancillary Sword, by Ann Leckie
  • Short Fiction: The Honey Trap, by Ruth E J Booth
  • Artwork: Tessa Farmer for her sculpture The Wasp Factory, after Iain Banks.
  • Non-Fiction: Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers and the First World War, by Edward James

For more information…