World Fantasy Award Call for Designs

The World Fantasy Award administration has issued a call for designs to replace the World Fantasy Award. The Award, formerly a Gahan Wilson designed bust of H. P. Lovecraft, has been retired. The Administration is looking for potential designs which represent both fantasy and horror fiction and do not depict any individual, living or dead (or undead?). The deadline for submissions is April 2, with inquiries being sent to THe new award will presumably debut at the 2016 World Fantasy Con in Columbus, OH.
For more information…

SLF Diversity Grants

The Speculative Literature Foundation has announced the winner of the Diverse Writers Grant and Diverse Worlds Grant. Both grants were won by Carmen Maria Machado. Each grant is for $500. The Diverse Writers Grant offers support to new and emerging writers from underrepresented and underprivileged groups whose marginalized identities may present additional obstacles in the writing/publishing process. The Diverse Worlds Grant is presented for work that best presents a diverse world, regardless of the writer’s background.
For more information…

Prix Aurora Awards

The 2015 English language Prix Aurora Awards were presented on November 22 at Canvention 35, hosted by SFContario 6, in Toronto.

  • Best English Novel: A Play of Shadow, by Julie E. Czerneda
  • Best English YA Novel: (tie): Lockstep, by Karl Schroeder; Out of This World, by Charles de Lint
  • Best English Short Fiction: “Crimson Sky,” by Eric Choi
  • Best English Poem/Song: “A Hex, With Bees,” by Tony Pi
  • Best English Graphic Novel: It Never Rains, by Kari Maaren
  • Best English Related Work: On Spec, published by the Copper Pig Writers’ Society
  • Best Artist: Dan O’ Driscoll, covers for Bundoran Press and On Spec magazine
  • Best Fan Publication: Speculating Canada, edited by Derek Newman-Stille
  • Best Fan Music: Kari Maaren
  • Best Fan Organizational: Sandra Kasturi for the Chiaroscuro Reading Series: Toronto
  • Best Fan Related Work: Derek Newman-Stille, Speculating Canada on Trent Radio 92.7 FM

For more information…

Kunkel Awards Announced

The Society of Professional Journalists have announced the creation of the Kunkel Award, named in honor of Bill Kunkel. The goal of the award is the encourage ethical and balanced news reporting of a fast-growing industry with millions of customers and will be presented in five categories: Excellence in News Reporting, Excellence in Feature Writing, Excellence in Feature Video/Streaming, Excellence in Photography/ Illustration/ Infographic, and Excellence in News Video/Streaming. Kunkel’s artwork consisted of satirical cartoons and he also co-founded the first magazine devoted to video and computer games, Electronic Games. Kunkel worked as a game designer, a comic book writer, and professional cartoonist. Nominations are open through February 14, 2016.
For more information…

Powers Inducted into Hall of Fame

Artist Richard Powers has been inducted into the Society of Illustrators Hall of Fame. Powers was a major science fiction artist with work appearing on book covers throughout the 1950s and 1960s. The Society of Illustrators has been inducted artists into the Hall of Fame since 1958 and powers joins other SF artists Virgil Finlay, Will Eisner, and Kinuko Craft in the hall.

For more information…

ISFiC Writers Contest Winner

M. Aruguete won the ISFiC Writer’s Contest with her story “Catamount.” The contest is sponsored by ISFiC in conjunction with Windycon. Aruguete won a membership at Windycon, room nights, and $300. Her story was published in the con program book. This year’s contest was judged by Richard Chwedyk, Roland Green, and Elizabeth Anne Hull.

For more information…

Ion Hobana Award

The winners of the Ion Hobana Award, named for the Romanian science fiction author, have been announced. The awards are presented for excellence in science fiction volume in Romania.

  • The Age of the Machine. About Posthumanism and Technological Imagery in Fiction, by Dr. Daniela Petroșel
  • The Morphology of the Possible Words: Utopia, Distopia, Science Fiction, Fantasy, edited by Prof. Dr. Corin Braga

For more information…

MidAmeriCon II Hugo Base Contest

MidAmeriCon II has announced a contest to design the base of this year’s Hugo Award. Design proposals will be accepted until January 18, 2016, and the winner will be selected by late February. The winner of the base design competition will receive a full attending membership for the convention and will be invited to take part in the public unveiling of the design.

For more information…

Joshi Returns Awards

In response to the announcement that the World Fantasy Award would be retiring the bust of H.P. Lovecraft that it has been using, scholar and World Fantasy Award winner S. T. Joshi has announced that he will be returning his two awards, declining any future nominations, and refusing to attend any future World Fantasy Conventions. Joshi won the World Fantasy Award in the Special-Professional category in 2005 for scholarship and the Special-Non-Professional category in 2013 for Unutterable Horror: A History of Supernatural Fiction, Volumes 1 & 2. He has been nominated three additional times.

For more information… (note, link to blog, not specific article, which appeared on November 10)

Martin Received Medill

George R. R. Martin was inducted into the Medill Hall of Achievement on November 4 at Northwestern University, his alma mater. He was also honored on November 7 at the Northwestern football game against Penn State. The Medill Hall of Achievement was established in 1997 to honor Medill alumni whose distinctive careers have had positive impacts on their fields.
For more information…