Clarke Award Winner

The winner of the Arthur C. Clarke Award was announced on July 27. This year, the award included a prize of £2017. The winner is Colson Whitehead for the novel Underground Railroad.
For more information…

Scribe Awards

The International Association of Media Tie-in Writers presented the the 2016 Scribe Awards, given for the best in tie-in fiction from 2016, on July 21.

  • Best Original Novel – General: Robert B. Parker’s Slow Burn, by Ace Atkins
  • Best Original Novel – Speculative: Assassin’s Creed Heresy, by Christie Golden
  • Best Adapted Novel – General and Speculative: Assassin’s Creed, by Christie Golden
  • Best Short Story: X-Files: “Love Lost,” by Yvonne Navarro
  • Best Audio: Dark Shadows: Blood & Fire, by Roy Gill

For more information…

Orbit 10 Year Sale

Orbit Books is celebrating its tenth anniversary in the US with a sale of ten of its most popular books. Each book is available as an e-book for $2.99 for a limited time. The selection includes Ann Leckie’s Hugo & Nebula Award winning Ancillary Justice, Mira Grant’s Hugo Award nominated Feed, N. K. Jemisin’s Hugo Award winning The Fifth Season, James S. A. Corey’s Hugo Award nominated Leviathan Wakes, Kim Stanley Robinson’s Nebula Award winning 2312, and five others.
For more information…

Rosny-Aîné Award Winners

The winners of the Rosny-Aîné Award were announced at the French National Science Fiction Convention in Grenoble, the weekend of July 13-16.

  • Novel: Métaquine, by François Rouiller
  • Short Story: “Les Anges Tièdes,” by Estelle Faye
  • Prix Cyrano: Joëlle Wintrebert

For more information…

Who Fears Death to HBO

Nnedi Okorafor has announced that her World Fantasy Award winning novel Who Fears Death has been optioned by HBO and has entered early production with George R.R. Martin listed as one of the Executive Producers.

Campbell and Sturgeon Awards

The winners of the Campbell and Sturgeon Awards were announced on June 16 at the Campbell Conference in Lawrence Kansas. Both are juried awards, with the Campbell being presented for the Best SF Novel and the Sturgeon for Best Short Story.

  • Theodore Sturgeon Memorial Award: “The Future is Blue,” by Catherynne M. Valente
  • John W. Campbell Memorial Award: Central Station, by Lavie Tidhar

For more information…

Dark Carnival Going Dark

After 41 years, Dark Carnival Bookstore in Berkeley, CA has announced it will be closing its doors, according to Jack Rems. He is currently holding a clearance sale. Rems has not yet announced a closing date.
For more information…

John W. Campbell Award Nominees

The nominees for the John W. Campbell Awards have been announced. The award will be presented at the Campbell Conference and Awards Ceremony in Lawrence, KS on the weekend of July 16-18. The award is selected by a jury consisting of Gregory Benford, Sheila Finch, James Gunn, Elizabeth Anne Hull, Paul Kincaid, Christopher McKitterick, Pamela Sargent, and Lisa Yaszek.

  • Zero K, by Don DeLillo
  • The Dream-Quest of Vellitt Boe, by Kij Johnson
  • Into Everywhere, by Paul J. McAuley
  • The Medusa Chronicles, by Alastair Reynolds and Stephen Baxter
  • Everfair, by Nisi Shawl
  • Occupy Me, by Tricia Sullivan
  • Rosewater, by Tade Thompson
  • Central Station, by Lavie Tidhar
  • The Underground Railroad, by Colson Whitehead
  • The Arrival of Missives, by Aliya Whiteley
  • Alien Morning, by Rick Wilber
  • Underground Airlines, by Ben Winters
  • Azanian Bridges, by John Nicholas Wood

For more information…

Scribe Award Nominees

The International Association of Media Tie-in Writers has announced the nominees for the 2017 Scribe Awards, presented for the best in tie-in fiction from 2016. The winners will be announced in July at Comic-Con International in San Diego.

Speculative Original

  • Warhammer 40,000: Warden of the Blade, by David Annandale
  • Assassin’s Creed: Heresy, by Christie Golden
  • Supernatural: Mythmaker, by Tim Waggoner
  • Star Trek: Elusive Salvation, by Dayton Ward

Adapted Speculative

  • Assassin’s Creed, by Christie Golden
  • Suicide Squad, by Marv Wolfman


  • Dark Shadows: Blood & Fire, by Roy Gill
  • Torchwood: Broken, by Joseph Lidster
  • Torchwood: Uncanny Valley, by David Llewellyn
  • Doctor Who: Mouthless Dead,” by John Pritchard

Short Fiction

  • “XXX,” by Glenn Greenberg
  • “An Eye for an Eye,” by George Ivanoff
  • “Drive Time,” by Jon McGoran
  • “Love Lost,” by Yvonne Navarro

For more information…

Palmer Wins Compton Crook

Ada Palmer won this year’s Compton Crook Award for best first novel for her book Too Like the Lightning. The award comes with a prize of $1,000 and the winner will be treated as a guest of honor for two consecutive Balticons. A plaque will be presented to Palmer at Balticon 51.

For more information…