Gemmell Awards Shortlist

The nominees for the Gemmell Awards for fantasy have been announced. The Gemmell Awards are popularly voted awards. Anyone can vote by visiting the Gemmell Award website. The winners will be announced July 15, 2017 in a ceremony at Edge-Lit 6 in Derby, UK.

The Legend Award for Best Fantasy Novel

  • Wrath, by John Gwynne
  • Nevernight, by Jay Kristoff
  • The Wheel of Osheim, by Mark Lawrence
  • The Bands of Mourning, by Brandon Sanderson
  • Warbeast, by Gav Thorpe

The Morningstar Award for Best Fantasy Newcomer

  • Infernal, by Mark de Jager
  • Duskfall, by Christopher Husberg
  • Steal the Sky, by Megan E. O’Keefe
  • Snakewood, by Adrian Selby
  • Hope and Red, by Jon Skovron

The Ravenheart Award for Best Fantasy Cover Art

  • Alessandro Baldaserroni for the cover of Black Rift, by by Josh Reynolds
  • Jason Chan for the cover of The Wheel of Osheim, by by Mark Lawrence
  • Sam Green for the cover of The Bands of Mourning, by by Brandon Sanderson
  • Kerby Rosannes for the cover of Nevernight, by by Jay Kristoff
  • Paul Young for the cover of Wrath, by by John Gwynne

For more information…

Philip K. Dick Winner

The winner of this year’s Philip K. Dick Award for Best original paperback publication was announced at Norwescon on April 14. The Dick Award is sponsored by the Philadelphia Science Fiction Society and the Philip K. Dick Trust. This year’s judges were Michael Armstrong, Brenda Clough, Meg Elison, Lee Konstantinou, and Ben Winters.

  • Winner: The Mercy Journals, by Claudia Casper
  • Special citation: Unpronounceable, by Susan diRende

For more information…

Obituary: John R. Newell

Bookseller John R. Newell (b.1935) died on February 25. Newell, who went by the name Klon, ran Klon’s Interplanetary Books, a mail order book business from Athens, Georgia. In addition, he sold rare and collectible SF/fantasy/horror at science fiction and fantasy conventions throughout the south and the east.

Liu at MIT

Ken Liu will speak at MIT Reads, which has selected his collection The Paper Menagerie as their spring selection. Liu’s talk will take place on April 12 at 7:00 and will include a reading, a discussion of the stories “The Paper Menagerie” and “The Bookmaking Habits of Select Species,” a Q & A period, and an autograph session. The event is free, but registration is required.
For more information…

Crawford Award

Charlie Jane Anders’s novel All the Birds in the Sky has been announced as the winner of the William L. Crawford Award. The Crawford Award is presented annually for a new fantasy author whose first book appeared during the previous year. It is presented at the International Conference on the Fantastic in the Arts, which will be held this year from March 22-26 in Orlando, Florida.
For more information…

Twain Fairy Tale to Be Published

A fairy tale Mark Twain told his daughters in 1879 and was later written down, but never published, is now going to be published with illustrations in September by Doubleday Books. Twain never finished The Purloining of Prince Oleomargarine, but he scribbled sixteen pages of notes about the story, which has been expanded and illustrated by Philip and Erin Stead.
For more information…

Obituary: Larry Smith

Columbus book dealer Larry Smith (b.1946) died on January 20. Smith co-chaired the Columbus in 1976 Worldcon bid as well as chairing Marcons III-XII. He served as a vice-chair for Chicon IV in 1982. He also co-chaired OVFF in 1998 and World Fantasy Con in 2010. In the early 1990s, he purchased Dick Spelman’s book business and, along with his wife, Sally Kobee, has sold books and most conventions in the Midwest and East Coast. He has managed the dealer’s room at numerous Worldcons and other conventions.

Cybil Nominees

The nominees for the 2016 Cybil Literary Award for Elementary and Middle Grade Speculative Fiction have been announced. The awards recognize the children’s and young adult authors and illustrators whose books combine the highest literary merit and popular appeal. The winners will be announced on February 14.

  • The Evil Wizard Smallbone, by Delia Sherman
  • The Firefly Code, by Megan Frazer Blakemore
  • The Goblin’s Puzzle: Being the Adventures of a Boy with No Name and Two Girls Called Alice, by Andrew Chilton
  • The Memory Thief, by Bryce Moore
  • Shadow Magic, by Joshua Khan
  • The Voyage to Magical North, by Claire Fayers
  • When the Sea Turned to Silver, by Grace Lin

For more information…

Baen Adds Lexile Scores

Baen Books has announced that they will begin adding Lexile scores to the webpages for their books aimed at young adults. Lexile scores are designed to help students and teachers determine which books offer the proper challenge for students based on their individual reading levels. The first Baen books to include Lexile scores will be David Weber’s A Beautiful Friendship, Treecat Wars and Fire Season, by David Weber and Jane Lindskold, and for Tony Daniel’s The Dragon Hammer.
For more information… (.pdf)

World Fantasy Awards

The World Fantasy Awards were presented on October 30 at World Fantasy Con in Columbus, OH. This year’s judges included Laird Barron, Rani Graff, Elaine Isaak, Kay Kenyon, and Konrad Walewski.

  • Novel: The Chimes, by Anna Smaill
  • Novella: The Unlicensed Magician, by Kelly Barnhill
  • Short Fiction: “Hungry Daughters of Starving Mothers,” by Alyssa Wong
  • Anthology: She Walks in Shadows, edited by Silvia Moreno-Garcia & Paula R. Stiles
  • Collection: Bone Swans, by C.S.E. Cooney
  • Artist: Galen Dara
  • Special Award – Professional: Stephen Jones, for The Art of Horror
  • Special Award – Nonprofessional: John O’Neill, for Black Gate
  • Life Achievement Winners: David G. Hartwell and Andrzej Sapkowski.

For more information…