Star Wars Fan Film Contest

Lucas Film is holding a contest for fan films set in the Star Wars universe. Winners will receive a Star Wars Prize Pack consisting of Star Wars-themed merchandise, a limited edition print of Star Wars concept art autographed by the artist, and a commemorative trophy. All submissions must be received by 11:59 pm PT on April 24, 2016. Award categories include Filmmaker Select, Best Animation, Best Non-Fiction, Spirit of Fandom, Best Comedy, Best Visual Effects, and Audience Choice.

For more information…

DUFF Seeks Candidates

The Down Under Fan Fund (DUFF) is looking for candidates for this year’s race to travel from Australia/New Zealand to the United States to attend MidAmeriCon II in Kansas City from August 17-21, 2016. Candidates should contact either Julian Warner or Lucy Huntzinger and have two North American nominators and thre Australia/New Zealand nominators. Each candidate should also have a 100 word statement and be able to put up a $25 bond. The deadline for declaring candidacies is March 1. Send paper mail to Lucy Huntzinger at or Julian Warner at
For more information…

2016 Jim Baen Memorial Writing Contest

The 2016 Jim Baen Memorial Writing Contest, sponsored by Baen Books and the National Space Society, has been announced. The contest is looking for stories which explore the promise of space exploration. The winner will be published as the featured story on the Baen Books main website and paid at the normal paying rates for professional stories and receive an award, membership to the 2016 International Space Development Conference, a year’s membership in the National Space Society, and a prize package containing various Baen Books and National Space Society merchandise. The contest is looking for short stories of no more than 8,000 words, that shows the near future (no more than about 50-60 years out) of manned space exploration. The deadline for submissions is February 1.
For more information…

VanderMeer Fall Fiction Winners

Ann and Jeff VanderMeer have announced the winners of their Fall Fiction contest. The winners will receive publication on their website, $2000, $200, and $100 respectively, and personal correspondence with the judges.

  • Winner: “Linger Longer,” by Vincent Masterson
  • Second Place Story: “Pool People,” by Jen Neale
  • Third Place Story: “Animalizing,” by Marisela Navarro

For more information…

World Fantasy Award Call for Designs

The World Fantasy Award administration has issued a call for designs to replace the World Fantasy Award. The Award, formerly a Gahan Wilson designed bust of H. P. Lovecraft, has been retired. The Administration is looking for potential designs which represent both fantasy and horror fiction and do not depict any individual, living or dead (or undead?). The deadline for submissions is April 2, with inquiries being sent to THe new award will presumably debut at the 2016 World Fantasy Con in Columbus, OH.
For more information…

ISFiC Writers Contest Winner

M. Aruguete won the ISFiC Writer’s Contest with her story “Catamount.” The contest is sponsored by ISFiC in conjunction with Windycon. Aruguete won a membership at Windycon, room nights, and $300. Her story was published in the con program book. This year’s contest was judged by Richard Chwedyk, Roland Green, and Elizabeth Anne Hull.

For more information…

MidAmeriCon II Hugo Base Contest

MidAmeriCon II has announced a contest to design the base of this year’s Hugo Award. Design proposals will be accepted until January 18, 2016, and the winner will be selected by late February. The winner of the base design competition will receive a full attending membership for the convention and will be invited to take part in the public unveiling of the design.

For more information…

Climate Fiction Short Story Contest

Arizona State University’s College for Liberal Arts and Sciences is holding a contest for climate change fiction in conjunction with the Imagination and Climate Futures Initiative. The winner will receive $1000, with three runners up receiving book bundles signed by Paolo Bacigalupi. The contest will be judged by Kim Stanley Robinson. The contest is open to everyone.
For more information…

Loscon 42 Writing Contest

Loscon 42, which will be held from November 27-29, will be holding a writing contest for aspiring authors. Writers can enter stories in three categories: Youth (6-12), Young adult (13-20), or Adult (21 plus). Stories may be fantasy or science fiction between 500 and 1,000 words. Youth can supplement their stories with pictures (each picture counting as 50 words towards the word count). Submissions are due by October 31 and should be sent to

GUFF Winner Announced

Finnish fan Jukka Halme was named the GUFF winner in a field that included a total of one competitor, so his victor was practically assured. Halme will travel to Brisbane, Australia for Contact, the 2016 Australian Natcon, to be held March 25-28, 2016.