DucKon Remains on Hiatus

After cancelling the 2015 DucKon and establishing a transition team to take care of the convention’s debt and retool for future DucKons, the Duckon Transition Team has announced that they are not in a position to host a DucKon in 2016. The Chicago area convention held 23 events before they were forced to cancel the convention. At this time, their focus is on “clean[ing] the financial slate.” Once that is done, they will determine if it is feasible to host future conventions.

For more information…

Atwood Headlines SF Colloquium

The Chiaroscuro Reading Series has announced that Margaret Atwood will be the keynote speaker at the 2016 Toronto SpecFic Colloquium, to be held on March 12. Other participants will include A.M. Dellamonica, Peter Chiykowski, Michael Rowe, Peter Watts, and Andrew Pyper. Tickets range from $30 for students to $40 for regular admission.
For more information…

Hodgman Toastmasters the Nebulas

John Hodgman, longtime Resident Expert on The Daily Show with Jon Stewart and the voice of the Father and the Other Father in the film Coraline, will serve as toastmaster at the 50th Nebula Awards banquet, held during the SFWA Nebula Conference on May 14 in Chicago, IL. The conference will run from May 12-15 at the Palmer House and features four days of seminars, workshops, and career building and network opportunities.
For more information…

WFC Names Guests of Honor

The 2016 World Fantasy Convention has announced that Mercedes Lackey, Larry Dixon, and L. E. Modesitt, Jr. will be their Guests of Honor. At the same time, the convention released its harassment policy, based on the policy used by the 2014 World Fantasy Con in Washington, as well as its accessibility policy. Both policies were released a day after a rate increase and after many on-line complaints.
For more information…

ApolloCon Cancelled

The Houston Science Fiction Association (HSFA) has announced that they will not be hosting ApolloCon this year. The website does not provide a reason for the cancellation or indicate if ApolloCon will be held in the future, although it does note that HSFA will continue to hold events for its members.
For more information…

Libertarian SF Hall of Fame Nominees

The Libertarian Futurist Society has announced the short list for this year’s Hall of Fame nominees.

  • Manna, a novel by Lee Corey (1984)
  • Courtship Rite, a novel by Donald M. Kingsbury (1982)
  • “As Easy as A.B.C.,” a short story by Rudyard Kipling (1912)
  • The Island Worlds, a novel by Eric Kotani and John Maddox Roberts (1987)
  • A Mirror for Observers, a novel by Edgar Pangborn (1954)

For more information…

Obituary: Jim Strauss

Hotel sales rep Jim Strauss (b.1948) died at his home on December 26. Strauss wasn’t a member of the fannish community directly, but he worked with multiple Chicago area science fiction conventions at various hotels and offered his expertise to conventions when they were negotiating with other hotels.

Lunacon Chair Resigns

Lunacon chair Mark Richards has announced his resignation as chair of Lunacon 2016. Richards was appointed chair in January 2015 after Lunacon announced that the 2015 iteration of the long-running convention would not be held. During his chairmanship, Lunacon held a crowd-sourced fundraisers to cover operating costs. The New York Science Fiction Society – the Lunarians has yet to announce a replacement, but has thanked Richards for her service.
For more information…

Lazlar Lyricon 3

ZZ9 Plural Z Alpha, the Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy fan group, has announced Lazlar Lyricon 3, a convention in praise of Adams’ work, scheduled for 9-11 June, 2017 in Stoke-on-Trent. The first two Lazlar Lyricons were held in the 1980s and 90s.
For more information…

MidAmeriCon II Call for Papers

MidAmeriCon II, the 2016 Worldcon in Kansas City, has issued a call for Academic Papers. This year’s Campbell Conference, normally held in Lawrence, Kansas, will take place as part of MidAmeriCon II’s progrmaming. The CFP is looking for papers on the theme “Tomorrow Is Now,” about MidAmeriCon II’s Guests of Honor, as well as other topics. Submissions are due by January 14, 2016. In addition, the Campbell and Sturgeon Awards will be presented at MidAmeriCon II.

For more information…