San Jose in 2018 Invites GoH Input

The committee trying to bring the 2018 Worldcon to San Jose has announced that they are taking suggestions for Guests of Honor in several categories, including Writing, Editing, Art, Music, Science, and Fandom. Generally Worldcon GoHs should have a career spanning at least 30 years and still be relevant to the community. It is rare that a previous Guest of Honor is honored a second time. Recommendations, along with an explanation for why they should be honored, may be sent to

New Wiscon Chair Named

Aileen Wall has been named chair for Wiscon 40, taking over from interim chair Jackie Lee, who has held that position since the original co-chairs, Andrea Horbinski and s.e. smith, resigned at the beginning of October. Wall served as hotel co-liaison at Wiscon 39 and was the MC for the Sunday night Dessert Salon and Guest of Honor speeches for Wiscons 38 and 39.

For more information…

Reversal of TAFF

The Trans-Atlantic Fan Fund (TAFF) Administrators, Nina Horvath, Curt Phillips, and Jim Mowatt, have announced that they will reverse the direction of the 2016 race to allow a European fan to attend the Worldcon in Kansas City. By running another East-West Race in 2016, it means that 2017 will be a race to send a North American fan to the Helsinki Worldcon.

Loscon 42 Writing Contest

Loscon 42, which will be held from November 27-29, will be holding a writing contest for aspiring authors. Writers can enter stories in three categories: Youth (6-12), Young adult (13-20), or Adult (21 plus). Stories may be fantasy or science fiction between 500 and 1,000 words. Youth can supplement their stories with pictures (each picture counting as 50 words towards the word count). Submissions are due by October 31 and should be sent to

CanSMOF Scholarships Awarded

CanSMOF has announced the recipients of three scholarships for use in attending SMOFcon 33. The scholarships allow conrunners to attend SMOFCon, which will be held this year in Dallas/Fort Worth TX, December 4-6, 2015.

  • Canadian Citizen/Resident Scholarship: Lisa Macklem (London, Ontario)
  • Non-North American Resident Scholarship: Maree Pavletich (Auckland, New Zealand)
  • Unrestricted Scholarship: Split between Keri O’Brien (Overland Park, KS) and Deanna Sjolander (Kansas City, MO)

Very Wrong Role Play

Jonathon Wall, a 29 year old refrigerator mechanic in the Air Force was arrested at Salt Lake Comic Con in Salt Lake City after he claimed to be part of the Air Force Office of Special Investigations to obtain access to the Green Room. An off duty police officer working con security grew suspicious and questioned him, calling the real OSI. Wall explained that he had been given a VIP pass from a friend but wanted better access. He has been indicted for impersonating a federal officer and making false statements to a federal officer. If found guilty, he can receive a sentence of up to five years in prison.
For more information…

Lunacon is Crowdsourcing

Lunacon, which was founded in 1957, went on hiatus after the 2014 event. Following a restructuring, Luncacon is now trying to raise $8,000 to ensure that they can hold the convention in 2016. The cash is needed in order to pay for storage rental, make deposits on facilities, and ensure that they can bring their guests, Robert J. Sawyer, Naomi Novik, and Rick Sternbach, to the convention.

For more information…

Wiscon 40 Co-Chairs Resign

Wiscon 40 Co-Chairs Andrea Horbinski and s.e. smith have announced their resignation. Horbinski explained that they decided they were not a good fit for the current culture at Wiscon and were leaving now to give the Motherboard a chance to find a replacement. The Motherboard has announced SF3 Board President Jackie Lee as an interim Chair. Wiscon 40 is scheduled to take place in Madison, WI the weekend of May 27-30, 2016. Sofia Samatar, Justine Larbalestier, and Nalo Hopkinson are the Guests of Honor.

For more information…For more information…

Southern Fandom Awards

The Rebel Award, Phoenix Award, the Rubble Award, and a new Fleur de Fan Award were all presented at DeepSouthCon 53/ContraFlow V in New Orleans, LA. The Rebel and Phoenix Awards are official awards, while the Rubble is an unofficial, but traditional award. The Rebel Award is presented for service to Southern fandom by a fan. the Phoenix is given for support by a pro of Southern fandom and/or professional work reflecting positively on the South, and the Rubble is given for the fan who’s done the most to Southern Fandom. The new Fleur de Fan Award is presented by Contraflow.

  • Rebel Award: Frank Sciotta, for being an instrumental volunteer at many conventions and Michael Scott, founder of CoastCon
  • Phoenix Award: Diana Rowland and Robert Asprin
  • Rubble Award: The Force of Gravity for taking away Ned Brooks so recently

Fleur de Fan Awards

  • Pro Fleur de Fan Award: Toni Weisskopf, for her support of ContraFlow
  • Fan Fleur de Fan Award: Area 51 for amazing room parties
  • Fan Fleur de Fan Award: Walter M. Scott, local fan and volunteer

ETA: Addition Fleur de Fan winners.

DeepSouthCon 55 to North Carolina

DeepSouthCon 55, to be held in 2017, was awarded to High Point, North Carolina in a competitive race with Bowling Green, Kentucky. The event will be held in conjunction with High Point’s Congregate convention. Congregate is generally held in July.